Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Temporary library e-resources: Home

Introduction

In response to COVID-19 many publishers are opening up access to online learning materials. This is to help mitigate the loss of access to print resources held in library buildings. This page lists those resources and will be updated as more become available.

Please note that access is temporary (availability detailed for each resource where known) and will come to an end when publishers decide to return to 'business as normal'.    

E-books and E-journals

Resource / publisher Description  Availability More information
Bloomsbury Collections Access the entire Bloomsbury e-book collections covering multiple disciplines Freely available until the end of July.

Access is available via this link:

https://sp.sams-sigma.com/Shibboleth.sso/Login?entityID=https://idp.bournemouth.ac.uk/openathens&target=https://sp.sams-sigma.com/shib?dest=https://www.bloomsburycollections.com/SHIBBOLETH?dest=https://www.bloomsburycollections.com

 

Bloomsbury Screen Studies

A broad range of content from Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber and the British Film Institute to support moving-image studies.

Freely available until the end of July.

Access is available via this link:

https://sp.sams-sigma.com/Shibboleth.sso/Login?entityID=https://idp.bournemouth.ac.uk/openathens&target=https://sp.sams-sigma.com/shib?dest=https://www.screenstudies.com/SHIBBOLETH?dest=https://www.screenstudies.com

Cambridge Core Over 700 textbooks published by Cambridge University Press. Freely available until 29th June 2020.

https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/textbooks

This link will direct you to the available textbooks. You may need to sign-in via the institutional login option and then navigate back to the page listing the textbooks.

JSTOR Additional access to e-books, e-journals and digital primary source collections. Freely available until 31st December 2020.

Access via the A-Z list of resources in the library area in Brightspace:

https://www.bournemouth.ac.uk/students/library/search-library-resources/alphabetical-list-databases/j

Further details from JSTOR's press release:

https://about.jstor.org/covid19/

List of participating e-book publishers:

https://about.jstor.org/covid19/expanded-access-to-ebooks/

The Listener Archive Weekly magazine Available until the 15th July 2020

The Listener was a weekly magazine established by the BBC in 1929 under its director-general, Lord Reith. It was the intellectual counterpart to the BBC listings magazine, Radio Times. Developed as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks -- initially on radio, but in later years television as well -- the Listener is one of the few records and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. In addition to commentary expanding on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, the Listener also previewed major literary and musical shows and regularly reviewed new books.

https://infotrac.gale.com/itweb/bu_uk?db=LSNR

MIT Press E-books from MIT Press available across multiple disciplines.  Made available until 'the end of May 2020'.

Follow this link and click 'Browse E-books' to view the complete listings:

https://login.libezproxy.bournemouth.ac.uk/login?url=https://direct.mit.edu/books

Project Muse E-books (and e-journals) from participating publishers. Access granted varies depending on the publisher.

Access via the A-Z list of resources in the library area in Brightspace:

https://www.bournemouth.ac.uk/students/library/search-library-resources/alphabetical-list-databases/p

More information about participating publishers:

https://about.muse.jhu.edu/resources/freeresourcescovid19/

ScienceDirect circa 37k book titles TRIALS. Free access until 31st August 2020

To support students, staff and researchers, we have enabled a 2-month trial (until 31st August 2020) for ScienceDirect book content.  It provides users with access to nearly all ScienceDirect Books (incl. textbooks, MRWs, monographs and Book Series – all publishing years, with continuous updates, circa 37k book titles).  Please note, this trial is not a precursor to a subscription to this content, rather an excellent opportunity for staff, taught masters students and PGRs, in particular, to freely access content that you need for a focused period, particularly whilst our physical library is closed and you are working from home.  Please get in touch with your faculty library team if you have any questions.

List of titles available here:

https://www.sciencedirect.com/browse/journals-and-books

University of Brighton, Aldrich Library Updated Ebooks information to reflect the increased access being offered by some publishers Until the end of the semester 

More information and access available here:

https://libguides.brighton.ac.uk/c.php?g=655866&p=4609903

University of Michigan Press 1,150+ e-books Freely available from 20th March 30th June 2020.

Access available here:

https://www.fulcrum.org/michigan

Press release available here:

http://blog.press.umich.edu/2020/03/ump-covid-19-free-access/

Vital Source E-textbooks from over 100 participating publishers.

Freely available from 16th March to 30th June 2020.

Information about their response to COVID-19:

https://press.vitalsource.com/vitalsource-helps

Download the Bookshelf App to get started browsing and reading:

https://support.vitalsource.com/hc/en-us/categories/360001056774#360002793514

You are limited to 7 items and you can’t borrow and return so pick those 7 items carefully

 

E-journals

Resource / publisher Description  Availability More information
Annual Reviews E-journals Freely available until 30th April

More information and access available from here:

https://annualreviewsnews.org/2020/03/13/annual-reviews-removes-access-control-in-response-to-covid-19-pandemic/

Bristol University Press and Policy Press 14 e-journals in the social sciences. 6 months from 30 March

Available on the Ingenta platform. After clicking the link below you will need to sign-in using the Shibboleth option and selecting Bournemouth University from the list of institutions.

https://www.ingentaconnect.com/content/buppp

JSTOR Additional access to e-books, e-journals and digital primary source collections. Freely available until 30th June.

Access via the A-Z list of resources in the library area in Brightspace:

https://www.bournemouth.ac.uk/students/library/search-library-resources/alphabetical-list-databases/j

Further details from JSTOR's press release:

https://about.jstor.org/covid19/

List of journal and primary source material collections included in the expanded access:

https://about.jstor.org/covid19/expanded-access-to-collections/ 

Project Muse E-journals (and e-books) from participating publishers. Access granted varies depending on the publisher.

Access via the A-Z list of resources in the library area in Brightspace:

https://www.bournemouth.ac.uk/students/library/search-library-resources/alphabetical-list-databases/p

More information about participating publishers:

https://about.muse.jhu.edu/resources/freeresourcescovid19/

 

Videos

Resource / publisher Description Availability More information
National Theatre Collection - Drama Online Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive, the National Theatre Collection makes this rich body of work available to students in schools, universities and libraries around the world Until 31st May.

More information and access here:

https://www.dramaonlinelibrary.com/series/national-theatre-collection-iid-190464