Skip to main content

Marketing, Advertising and Public Relations: Academic and Scholarly Research Databases

Communication Source

Scholarly journal articles from over 1000 titles including:

  • Advertising Age
  • Journal of Public Relations Research
  • Marketing Science
  • Mass Communication and Society

Emerald Insight

Scholarly journal articles from over 1000 titles including:

  • European Journal of Marketing
  • Journal of Consumer Marketing
  • Journal of Communication Management
  • International Journal of Advertising and Marketing to Children

Art and Architecture Complete

Scholarly journal articles from over 1000 titles including:

  • Design: Retail
  • Creative Review
  • Critical Studies in Fashion and Beauty
  • Eye

MySearch cross-searches many of BUs collections and research databases.

  • Remember: once you have run a keyword search and have a results list, use the Full-Text filter to bring back results that can be downloaded and read online.
  • Because mySearch searches through information from many different subjects you will need to think carefully about what keywords and search strings to use in order to reduce noise (irrelevant results). You can find more information about this in our Advanced Searching Guide    

Scopus

  • Scopus is the Industry Standard database for Academic Publications and is used in the UK Higher Education Research Excellence Framework to assess the impact of Academic Journals, Papers and Authors.
  • The database can be used in the same way as any other research database to find relevant academic papers. However, Scopus can also be used to track where research has been referenced in other papers both before and since the paper has been written. It also gives you more in depth profiles of authors and journals.

 

Web of Science

Citation databases that allow searching for a specific article by subject, author, journal or author address. It is also possible to search for articles that cite a known author or work

Web of Science consists of:

  • Science Citation Index 1899-present
  • Social Sciences Citation Index 1898-present
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science 1990-present
  • Biosis Previews Archive 1969-2008
  • Medline 1950-present
  • Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators

Business Source Ultimate

Scholarly journal articles from over 1000 titles including:

  • Marketing Management Journal
  • Public Relations Strategist
  • Academy of Marketing Studies Journal
  • Journal of Advertising

WARC

WARC Contains Case Studies and Data but also Research Articles and Academic Papers from a number of key journals including:

  • International Journal of Market Research
  • Journal of Advertising Research
  • Market Leader
  • Admap

Academic Search Ultimate

Journal articles, book reviews, conference proceedings from over 8,500 titles. Including:

  • Communication and Society
  • Business Research Quarterly
  • Women in Business
  • Contemporary Management Research