Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education: Books

Use unit reading lists

  • Tip to save you time and start your research on the best track: check and follow links using your unit e-reading lists (select the 'Reading List' link in your unit on Brightspace). Or, check your course handbook for recommended resources and ask your course leader(s) for advice. Plus, regularly check your units in Brightspace where course leaders may post and upload extra resources.

CREDOReference

mySearch

mySearch is an interface which allows you to search across a range of library resources simultaneously, including books, e-books, journal articles and databases

E-book Collections

Getting access:

  • The majority of our e-books can be accessed via mySearch, but they can also be accessed via our e-books collections. 
  • There are additional benefits of using the e-book collections. 

Quick and powerful keyword searching in e-books: 

  • Search within the text of all the e-books held in a particular collection for a subject or keyword. This is an efficient way to find relevant information on a particular topic. If you wish to keyword search across every page of all e-books in a particular collection, we recommend the following databases:

Download some e-books 

  • In some cases (but not all), entire e-books are available to download for a specified loan period. For more information on how to download an entire e-book, see our LibGuide How to download e-books to e-readers.

I cannot access an e-book

  • Some e-books are 1 or 3 concurrent user access only. This means only up to three people can view the same e-book at any one time. Wherever possible, if available, e-books will be unlimited concurrent user access.
  • Need IT help? If you can't get access to an e-book, try again later. If you are repeatedly experiencing technical difficulties getting access to an e-book, contact BU IT Services: 24/7 phone line (01202 965515 or freephone 0808 196 2332). Or email eresourceshelp@bournemouth.ac.uk (attaching screenshots helps).

Contact us

Chat is currently unavailable - please telephone us.

For Library enquiries:
tel. +44 (0) 1202 965959
available 9am - 5pm Mon to Fri

For IT support:
tel. +44 (0) 1202 965515
available 24x7

facebook logo twitter logo instagram logo

Print books