Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Responsibility for preserving and providing access to moving image and sound in the United Kingdom is distributed among a number of national organisations.
BBC Motion Gallery
A collection of clips for use in presentations, lectures, coursework and media.
British Films Institute (BFI) National Archive
The BFI National Archive holds one of the world’s largest and most significant collections of film and television material.
British Universities Film and Video Council (BUFVC)
Promotes moving images for teaching and research in higher and further education.
Creative Archive License Group
Set up in 2005 by the BBC, BFI, Channel 4 and the Open University to make certain archive content available for public use under the terms of the Creative Archive Licence (CAL).
Film Archives UK
Represents the UK's public sector moving image archives in all archival aspects of the moving image, and acts as the advisory body on national moving image archive policy.
A research guide to the United Kingdom’s 12 public sector moving image archives.
National Media Museum
Previously known as the National Museum of Photography, Film and Television the collections encompass some of the best, most significant and important visual material.
Researcher's Guide to Screen Heritage
Combines the former BUFVC Researcher's Guide Online (RGO) with a new directory of artefacts produced by the UK Screen Heritage Network.
Sources available via BU
Digital collections listed here are available from the Alphabetical list of databases available via the Brightspace Library tab or our Library webpages. These collections focus on news, newsreels and documentary footage.
British Pathe Film Archive
Covers news, sport, social history and entertainment from 1896 to 1970. The database contains 3500 hours of moving image.
Selected from the holdings of the BFI National Archive, over 2,000 non-fiction film and television titles.
News on Screen
An index of records from over 20 British newsreels and cinemagazines released between 1910 and 1979. News on Screen contains 80,000 production documents and links to archive footage from the Pathe newsreel database.
UK 'free-to-air' Broadcasters
UK 'free-to-air' Broadcasters provide access to programmes from their websites, usually for up to seven days after broadcast.
Broadcast (television and radio) recorded off-air
British universities record broadcast material off-air under licence, plus many broadcasters now offer on demand facilities.
Post broadcast, it remains difficult to obtain copies of television and radio programmes. Through our membership of the British Universities Film and Video Council (BUFVC) we can request a limited number of items from their Off-Air Recordings Service for items missed in the current year.
In addition we have access to the BUFVC’s Off-Air Recording Collection from 1998-2006. Requests can be made by individual researchers for recordings from the collection via the Library.
For programmes post-2007 please refer to Box of Broadcasts (BoB National), see below.
To find out what has been broadcast or what will be broadcast in the coming two weeks, consult the Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching (TRILT) website.