Skip to main content

Newspapers: General guidance

Library researcher guide to Newspaper resources

Using Newspapers

If you are considering using newspapers as a source for your research you are strongly advised to check that you can obtain access to source material before committing yourself to a particular newspaper title. This guide gives a detailed description of Bournemouth University holdings.

You are advised to consider the following points:

Do you require the text of the printed version?

This is available from Gale Reference Complete and Lexis Library databases for a range of UK broadsheets, tabloids and regional newspapers, and some foreign newspapers. Library databases have a number of advantages:

  • Search for topics simultaneously in a number of papers or just one.
  • Search across a date range appropriate to your research.
  • Save text and export to word processing or textual analysis software to assist with your analysis.

Do you require a facsimile?

A facsimile format is the text in its original layout. For recent material you can access PressReader. In the case of older material you may need to locate print or microfilmed copies of newspapers.

Europeana Newpaper Collection

Europeana Collections gives access to explore more than 4 million newspaper records from across Europe. Help guides explain how to navigate, search, browse and find the newspaper content you’re looking for. This page shows how to:

  • Search for a term in either the full-text or the metadata
  • Search in metadata or full-text only
  • Search for a date range or a single date
  • Browse newspapers by country or by title
  • Download a newspaper page

British Library Newspaper Library

Over 2013-14 the British Library moved the national newspaper collection from Colindale in North London (which closed in Nov 2013) to a purpose-built Newspaper Storage Building (NSB) in Boston Spa, West Yorkshire.

Access to the collection is via a dedicated Newspaper Reading Room at the British Library’s main site at St Pancras in London, where microfilm and digital copies will satisfy the majority of requests. Where no ‘surrogate’ copy exists you can request print originals from Boston Spa and if the required item is in good enough condition to travel it will be

Researching television and radio news

The British Library has also been recording television and radio news programmes broadcast in the UK since May 2010. These programmes are available on the Broadcast News service, which is only accessible in the Reading Rooms.

 

Accessing Resources from Off-campus

Useful Links