Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gale Reference Complete
Provides access to major daily and regional newspapers (Gale OneFile News)
Provides access to more than 100 national and regional UK newspapers.
The Burney Collection
News materials gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, with some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
Google News Archive
An eclectic collection of, mainly American, newspapers, often very incomplete runs.
Provides a full facsimile of The Guardian enabling you to see the pages as they were published. From 2010 to date (3 month delay)
The Independent Digital Archive
The Independent Digital Archive provides full facsimile, searchable copies of the entire run of the newspaper, from its very first issue in 1986 until the end of 2012, enabling you to see all the stories and pages as they were published.
Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers
Contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers from the 19th century.
Nineteenth Century Serials Edition
Full facsimile access to six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers.
Directory of links to international online newspapers.
Provides access to the last 90 days issues of 900 UK (national and regional) and international newspapers. It does not include The Times, The Financial Times or the Sun.
The Times Digital Archive
Full facsimile access to The Times newspaper from 1785 to 2013, including photographs, advertisements and page layouts.
- Most newspapers have online versions which update in real time. Online newspapers and ABYZ News links provide links to access the online version of thousands of newspapers from around the world.
Financial Times Online (FT.com)
BU users must complete one off registration to access FT.com content for free:
- Important note: for continued access whilst you are BU student or staff you are required to log in to FT.com once every 90 days
- If you have not already done so, you need to complete a one off registration to access BU’s FT.com package. Enter via the link provided by BU Library and you are taken to the FT.com registration page for BU users.
- Once you have registered, you can sign in and access via the FT.com website. Direct links to areas relevant for some FM courses available below.
Hints & Tips
A range of videos on how to use FT.com and all of the extra features can be found on YouTube.
- Advanced Search - Use the search bar along the top of the screen to make detailed and specific searches for content dating back to August 2004.
- Email Alerts - Sign up for company, industry or keyword alerts
- ePaper - View an exact replica of all editions of the FT newspaper, complete with turning pages
- FT Clippings - Create a clippings list to save, store and share FT article links and web pages with colleagues, students and friends
- FT Mobile - Access FT content on your mobile and tablet device
- Special Reports - Get 20 reports each month on the issues and events impacting different countries and industries
- Breaking stories - Insight and data from the global financial markets
- Management - Insight into management ideas, practice and education plus how companies should respond to topical issues
- Case studies - Written by academics, not journalists, in an easy to follow format
- The Big Read - Read in-depth reporting from FT correspondents around the world on stories that explore and explain key themes in the world news, science, business and discussions with FT reporters
- Comment & Analysis - A team of acclaimed columnists provide thought provoking and sophisticated analysis of current events
Europeana Newpaper Collection
Europeana Collections gives access to explore more than 4 million newspaper records from across Europe. Help guides explain how to navigate, search, browse and find the newspaper content you’re looking for. This page shows how to:
- Search for a term in either the full-text or the metadata
- Search in metadata or full-text only
- Search for a date range or a single date
- Browse newspapers by country or by title
- Download a newspaper page