Audience Research focuses on analysing Media reach and Media Consumption. There are several organizations which collect this data including
The Library does not subscribe directly to these data sets but a substantial amount of data is published for free through their websites
MediaTel (available through Faculty of Media and Communication Tab in Brightspace - Additional Resources)
The Media School also has access to MediaTel which is an audience research database which brings together data from the above organizations and other data collecting bodies. Through it you can view data and reports of media consumption by geographic location and by medium
UK government, census and social data including statistics, longitudinal studies, geographical boundary data in GIS formats from 1971 to present
A one-off registration process required the first time you use this resource
Office for National Statistics
Economic, social and demographic statistics and analysis relating to the United Kingdom. The site allows you to download full datasets usually in .csv or .xls formats.
Stationary Office publications with links to HMSO and Parliament websites. Includes primary and secondary Legislation
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
200,000 Parliamentary sessional papers from 1688-2004 providing a comprehensive primary record of the government and history of Britain, its former colonies and the wider world
National Digital Archive of Datasets
Archived UK government data and statistics.
Archive of past and present UK Government webpages.
European statistical information provided by the European Commission. Includes statistics, tables, maps, books, reports, articles.
International statistical information provided by the United Nations. Includes statistics, tables, books, reports, articles.
Data and Statistics from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).
ICPSR is a consortium of North American and International Academic institutions which collect and curate a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioural sciences. It hosts 21 specialised collections of data in education, ageing, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Much of the data is drawn from North America.