Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education: Journals

Reminder: to save search time and start your research on the best track, check and follow links using your unit e-reading lists (select the 'Reading List' link in your unit on Brightspace). Reading lists guide you to the most relevant and recommended resources for your course. Plus, regularly check your units in Brightspace where Lecturers may post and upload extra resources (e.g. in announcements or the content area).

Browse e-journals by journal title

If you are looking for a particular journal (e.g. Review of Educational Research) you can browse to that journal via the A-Z of e-journals

What is Boolean searching?

Why use journals?

Print and electronic journals are an important source of specialist information -

  • Journals are published more regularly than books and are a good source of the latest research.
  • Many journals are peer reviewed - the articles have been critically reviewed by experts in the field before being published.

mySearch

mySearch link

mySearch is an interface which allows you to search across a range of library resources simultaneously, including databases, e-journals and e-books.

Discovery Service

mySearch tutorial

mySearch tutorial

 

Accessing Resources from Off-campus

Useful Links

How can I find journal articles on my topic?

  • The simplest way to find journal articles is to search mySearch. It gives you an easy, yet powerful means of accessing our information resources through a single search. It searches across our library catalogues and many of the Library databases, ejournals and other external services that the Library subscribes to. 
  • The alternative is to search an individual subject specific database. These will search a smaller number of articles than mySearch, but are subject specific and will give you more focussed results. A list of Education databases are available on the library webpages.

Highly Cited Journals

Some databases record the number of citations that journals and articles receive. These "citation" or "bibliometric" databases can be a useful source of information if you are researching which journal to publish your articles in.

There are two main citation databases available from the library:

  1. Journal Citation Reports is part of the Web of Science database from Thompson-Reuters (click on the tab at the top of the Web of Science page to access the reports). It enables you to view the most highliy cited journals in different subject areas. It includes reports on highly cited journals in the categories: Education & Educational Research; Education, Scientific Disciplines; and Education, Special.
  2. Scopus is the world's largest citation database and enables you to browse and compare different journals. This tutorial shows you how to browse and analyse journals.

Contact your Education Librarian for help using citation databases.

LLS Academic Liaison Manager and Education Librarian

Emma Crowley's picture
Emma Crowley
Contact:
DL126
The Sir Michael Cobham Library, Talbot Campus
+44 1202 965451

Newspapers

Major UK and international newspapers may be viewed online on the databases called Factiva and Press Display. The Times and Financial Times are available in print format in The Sir Michael Cobham Library. Check the Library Catalogue for holdings.