Referencing - APA : A-Z Referencing Examples

Format

Act Title | Year

Examples

In-text citation: Section 6 of the Human Rights Act 1998 allows victims of privacy invasions to bring actions against public authorities

Reference list: Human Rights Act 1998

Tips

• The Act title is in title case and not in italics
• The year is not in brackets as it is part of the title
• Do not include a link, even if the Act is found online
• It is best practice to use a narrative citation. Avoid putting Acts of Parliament in brackets

This guidance is for students who are permitted to use generative AI tools (e.g. ChatGPT, QuillBot, Chimp Rewriter, DALL-E, etc.) in their coursework brief:

1. Follow all instructions in your coursework brief regarding use of AI
2. Cite and reference any information generated by AI as directed 

Format

In-text citation

(Organisation, year)

Reference list

Organisation. (Year). Title of software (Version information) [Type of software]. https://www.website.com/

Examples

In-text citation: When prompted to provide some background information on Jaguar Land Rover, ChatGPT stated, "JLR specialises in design, development, manufacture and sale of luxury vehicles" (OpenAI, 2024).

Reference list: OpenAI. (2024). ChatGPT (April 30 version) [Large language model]. https://chat.openai.com/chat

Tips

• For more information on the use of generative AI in coursework, please see Using Generative AI at Bournemouth University.

Format

Artists' book, photobook, or zine with a single author, and self-published

Author, N. (Year). Title. [Format].

Artists' book, photobook, or zine with a single author, and commercially published

Author, N. (Year). Title. [Format]. Publisher.

Examples

Example 1 (Zine with a single author, and self-published)

Sillars, J. (2019). Euphoriacs: A zine surrounding trans people and our relationships with clothing. [Zine].

Example 2 (Artists' book with a single author, and commercially published)

Poulain, D. (2023). Birds. [Artists' book]. Éditions du livre.

Tips

• The title is in sentence case and in italics.
• Zines and artists' booksare often self-published and therefore no publisher name is needed at the end of the reference (see Example 1)

Format

Artist, N. (Year). Artwork title [Type of artwork]. Gallery/Museum or Website Name, Location. https://www.website.com/page

Examples

van Gogh, V. (1889). The starry night [Painting]. The Museum of Modern Art, New York, USA. https://www.moma.org/collection/works/79802

Tips

• The artwork title is in sentence case and in italics
• Describe the item type in square brackets, for example, [Painting], [Oil on canvas], [Sculpture] after the title (see Example)

Format

Author, N. (Year, Month Day). Title of post. Blog Title. https://www.website.com/page

Examples

Winfield, J. (2021, July 8). From clearing to global management internship in China. Coventry University. https://www.coventry.ac.uk/blog/jimmys-clearing-story/

Tips

• Use the full date for the post: (Year, Month Day)
• The post title is in sentence case
• The blog title is in title case and in italics

See Chapter in an edited book when referencing a book with an editor and chapters by different authors.

Format

Author, N. (Year). Title (Edition.). Publisher. https://doi.org/xxxxx

• Author's family name
• [Comma]
• Author’s initial(s)
• [Full stop]
• Year (in round brackets)
• [Full stop]
• Title of book (in sentence case and in italics)
• Edition (in round brackets, if there is one.)
• [Full stop]
• Publisher
• [Full stop]
• DOI (if there is one)

Examples

Example 1 (Book with a DOI)

Ninagawa, C. (2023). AI time series control system modelling. Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-19-4594-6

Example 2 (Book with two editors and an edition)

Mankiw, N. G., & Taylor, M. P. (Eds.). (2023). Economics: A new approach. (6th ed.). Cengage.

Tips

• The title is in sentence case and in italics
• If there is no edition, leave it out (see Example 1)
• Print and e-books are referenced in the same way. If there is a DOI, add it to the end of the reference (see Example 1)

In-text citations and references are the formatted in the same way for cases/law reports (apart from subsequent in-text citations).

Format

Neutral citation

Case Name(s) [Year] Abbreviation for Court | Case Number

Law report citation

Case Name(s) [(Year)] Volume | Abbreviation for Law Report | Page number

Examples

In-text citations

Parenthetical citation: The Court of Appeal stressed that equal weighting ... should be determined by adopting the principles of proportionality (Douglas v Hello! Magazine [2001] 2 WLR 992).

Narrative citation: In Douglas v Hello! Magazine [2001] 2 WLR 992, the Court of Appeal stressed that equal weighting ...

Subsequent citation: In Douglas v Hello! Magazine (2001), the Court of Appeal stressed that equal weighting ...

Reference list

Neutral citation: Charalambous v Welding [2009] EWCA Civ 1578

Law report citation: Douglas v Hello! Magazine [2001] 2 WLR 992

Tips

• The party names are in title case and in italics
• Use the neutral citation OR law report citation, and copy this directly from the source
• Copy the style of brackets around the year from the source. If the source uses [square brackets], use them in the in-text citation and reference list
• Subsequent in-text citations should use (round brackets)
• Do not include a link, even if the case/report is found online
• Use the Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations to identify abbreviations for law report series.

Format

Author, N. (Year). Chapter title. In N. Editor (Ed.), Book title (pp. x-x). Publisher. https://doi.org/xxxxx

Examples

Example 1 (First edition of a book with a DOI)

Barker, S. (2021). Painting the plague, 1230-1640. In C. Lynteris (Ed.), Plague image and imagination from medieval to modern times (pp. 37-68). Palgrave Macmillan. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-72304-0

Example 2 (Subsequent edition of a print book with multiple authors and editors)

Perrin, D., & Simpson, D. (2021). Where and how you will learn. In R. Helyer, T. Wall, A. Minton & A. Lund (Eds.), The work-based learning student handbook (3rd ed., pp. 24-44). Bloomsbury Academic.

Tips

• In the in-text citation, use the author(s) of the chapter, not the editor(s)
• The book title is in sentence case and in italics
• The edition, where second edition or above, is included in the same brackets as the page numbers (see Example 2)
• Include the page numbers of the whole chapter in the reference, not just the pages you have used
• Print and e-books are referenced in the same way. If there is a DOI, add it to the end of the reference (see Example 1)

Format

Author, N. (Year, Month Day(s) of the conference). Conference presentation title [Type of presentation]. Conference Name, Location. www.website.com/page

Examples

Motherwell, S., Heeney, C., & Sloan, P. (2023, September 6-8). 'Text me when you get home!' Research on the safety of women and girls on public transport in Scotland [Paper presentation]. European Transport Conference, Milan, Italy. https://www.therrc.co.uk/sites/default/files/files/Conference/2023/Presentations/2_marc_naura.pdf

Tips

• A conference presentation may be in the form of a paper, poster, keynote speech etc
• The title is in sentence case and in italics
• Include the full date of the conference (see Example)
• After the title, describe the presentation in square brackets, e.g. [Paper presentation], [Poster presentation], [Keynote speech] (see Example)
• If the presentation has a DOI, use this instead of a web link
• If the presentation is published in a journal or book, follow the guidance for a journal article or chapter in an edited book

Format

Published data set (i.e. stable, citable data products)

Author, N. (Year). Title (Numerical identifier; version) [Data Set]. Publisher. https://doi.org/xxxxx

Unpublished raw data

Author, N. (Year). Title [Unpublished raw data]. Source of unpublished data.

Untitled unpublished raw data

Author, N. (Year). [Description of untitled data] [Unpublished raw data]. Source of unpublished data.

Proprietary/aggregated data (unpublished, changes over time)

Database Provider. (Year). [Description of untitled data used] [Unpublished raw data]. Retrieved Month Day, Year from URL.

Examples

Example 1 (Published data set)

Leland, J. & Kickstarter. (2024). Kickstarter data, global, 2009-2023 (ICPSR 38050; Version V3) [Data Set]. ICPSR. https://doi.org/10.3886/ICPSR38050.v3

Example 2 (Unpublished raw data)

Boole, G. (2024). Librarian biscuit consumption [Unpublished raw data]. National Centre for Librarians.

Example 3 (Untitled unpublished raw data)

Dewey, M. (2023). [Correlation between student focus and screen time] [Unpublished raw data]. Bournemouth University.

Example 4 (Untitled unpublished raw data where data changes over time and the author and source are the same)

S&P Global Market Intelligence. (2025). [The Coca-Cola Company's reported total revenue from 2022 FY to 2024 FY compared to their ESG Scores in 2022 FY to 2024 FY] [Unpublished raw data]. Retrieved October 1, 2025 from https://secure.signin.spglobal.com/

Tips

• The title is in sentence case and in italics
• If the data has no title, provide a description of the data in [square brackets] and the title is not in italics (see Example 3)
• The description is flexible e.g., [Data set] or [Data set and code book]
• Version is written in full, followed by the version number
• If the data set has a DOI, use this instead of a web link
• If the data is changed over time, provide a retrieval date.
• If the author of the data is also the source, do not repeat the author's name in the source element of the reference.
• If the data is from a report, website, book, or journal, reference that source and not the data set itself

Format

Named author

 

Author, N. (Year). Entry title. In N. Editor (Ed.), Dictionary or encyclopaedia title (Edition.). Publisher. https://www.website.com/entry

If no author, use the organisation’s name as the author

 

Organisation. (Year). Entry title. In Dictionary or encyclopaedia title. https://www.website.com/entry

Examples

Example 1 (Named author)

 

dos Santos Leffa, P. (2023). Ultra-processed foods. In B. Caballero (Ed.), Encyclopedia of human nutrition (4th ed., pp. 653-662). Academic Press. https://doi.org/10.1016/B978-0-12-821848-8.00009-3

Example 2 (Organisation as the author, with regular updates to the entries)

 

Oxford English Dictionary. (n.d.). Life admin. In The Oxford English dictionary. Retrieved May 1, 2024, from https://doi.org/10.1093/OED/7327882606

Referencing BNF (British National Formulary)

Accessing the BNF

You may access the BNF either through NICE or through Medicines Complete (access via the A-Z list on the Library area on Brightspace). The only difference will be the URL at the end of your reference – all the other information will be identical for either way of accessing it. 

For Example

In-text narrative citations

Joint Formulary Committee (JFC, 2024) - first time of citing, then JFC (2024) for all succeeding citations.

(Joint Formulary Committee [JFC] 2024) - first time of citing, then (JFC, 2024) for all succeeding citations.

In-text parenthetical citations

(Joint Formulary Committee [JFC], 2024). - first time of citing, then (JFC, 2024) for all succeeding citations.

 

In a Reference List

Examples:

Joint Formulary Committee. (2024). Etanercept [drug information]. BMJ Group and Pharmaceutical Press. : https://www.new.medicinescomplete.com/#/content/bnf/_414565811 

 

Paediatric Formulary Committee. (2024). Paracetamol [Drug information].

               https://bnfc.nice.org.uk/drugs/paracetamol/ 

 

This is according for referencing a webpage.

---

Referencing multiple drugs from the BNF

• For each page about a specific drug, you should have a different reference in your reference list
• If the references are all from the same year, then they should then be labelled a,b,c etc so that it is clear what you are citing

Therefore, your reference list at the end of your work may look like this...

Joint Formulary Committee. (2024a). Fampridine [Drug information]. BMJ Group and                           Pharmaceutical Press. https://bnf.nice.org.uk/drugs/fampridine.

Joint Formulary Committee. (2024c). Tizanidine [Drug information]. London: BMJ Group and               Pharmaceutical Press. https://www.new.medicinescomplete.com/#/content/bnf/_414565811 

 

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Surname/family name, Initials. (year of publication). Title of the review. Name of the database.                      Available from URL

Reference as a website

 

For example:

Conde-Agudelo, A., & Diaz-Rossello, J. (2022). Kangaroo mother care to reduce morbidity and mortality in low birthweight infants. Cochrane database of systematic reviews. John Wiley.                            http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/14651858.CD002771.pub3/full 

 

Tips

• The title of the entry is in sentence case and italics
• When a work is continuously updated, include a retrieval date and use ‘n.d.’ for the publication date.

Format

Unpublished dissertation or thesis (available from the awarding institution)

Author, N. (Year). Dissertation or thesis title [Unpublished master’s dissertation or Unpublished doctoral thesis]. Name of University.

Published dissertation or thesis (available from databases such as EThoS or ProQuest, or Google Scholar)

Author, N. (Year). Dissertation or thesis title [Master’s dissertation or Doctoral dissertation, Name of University]. Database. https://www.database.com/dissertation

Examples

Example 1 (Unpublished dissertation)

Miyamoto, S. (2024). Student perceptions of engagement events in university libraries [Unpublished master's dissertation]. Coventry University.

Example 2 (Published doctoral thesis)

Benhamou, E. (2019). Genre in contemporary Disney animated features (2008-2016) [Doctoral thesis, University of Bristol]. EThOS. https://research-information.bris.ac.uk/en/studentTheses/genre-in-contemporary-disney-animated-features-2008-2016

Tips

• The title is in sentence case and in italics
• Use square brackets for the dissertation or thesis description

Format

Director, N. (Director). (Year). Film title [Film]. Production Company.

Examples

Example 1 (Film with two production companies)

Nolan, C. (Director). (2023). Oppenheimer [Film]. Syncopy; Atlas Entertainment.

Example 2 (Translation of title in square brackets)

Bayona, J. A. (Director). (2023). La sociedad de la nieve [Society of the snow] [Film]. El Arriero Films; Misión de Audaces Films; Netflix.

Tips

• The title is in sentence case and in italics
• Separate the production company with a semi-colon where there is more than one company (see Example 1)
• When the film’s title is in a different language, include a translation of the title in square brackets (see Example 2)

Format

Named author

Author, N. (Year). Title of report (Source type and report number). Organisation. https://www.website.com/report

If no author, use the organisation’s name as the author

Organisation. (Year). Title of report (Source type and report number). https://www.website.com/report

Examples

Example 1 (Command paper)

Department for Work and Pensions. (2024). Modernising support for independent living: The health and disability green paper (Cp 1061). https://www.gov.uk/government/consultations/modernising-support-for-independent-living-the-health-and-disability-green-paper/modernising-support-for-independent-living-the-health-and-disability-green-paper

Example 2 (Library briefing paper with an individual author)

Keep, M. (2024). The Barnett formula and fiscal devolution (House of Commons Library Briefing Paper no. 7386). https://researchbriefings.files.parliament.uk/documents/CBP-7386/CBP-7386.pdf

Example 3 (House of Commons paper with a specific department as author. Date written in full)

National Audit Office. (2024, March 15). Use of artificial intelligence in government (Session 2023-24 HC 612). https://www.nao.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2024/03/use-of-artificial-intelligence-in-government.pdf

Example 4 (Briefing paper with an individual author and a government department as the organisation)

Sugars, R. (2024, July 11). Early years strategy. Coventry City Council. https://edemocracy.coventry.gov.uk/documents/s61101/Early%20Years%20Strategy.pdf

Tips

• Most government reports are authored by a government department, agency or committee (see Examples 1 and 3)
• If there is a hierarchy of departments listed in a report, use the most specific government department, relevant to the report, as the author
• If the government department is included in the report number, put this in round brackets after the title (see Example 2)
• For government reports where no department is specified, use the name of the government as the author. For the UK, this will be UK Government. Do not use GOV.UK
• Use the full publication date if written on the report
• The report title is in sentence case and in italics
• If there is no source type or report number, leave it out
• If a publisher is available, include it after the paper number. It is likely to be either HMSO, The Stationery Office or the individual government department

NICE Guidelines

Format

In text

According to the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE 2015) .....

In Reference list

Organisation/Surname/Family Name, INITIALS., Year. Title of guideline. Place of publication:                     Publisher. Guideline number (if stated).

Example

National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE), 2025. Chronic heart failure in adults: Diagnosis and management. NICE guidelines                    NG06. https://www.nice.org.uk/guidance/ng106/resources/chronic-heart-failure-in-adults-diagnosis-and-management-pdf-66141541311685

 

Codes of Practice

Format

In-text

(Nursing & Midwifery Council, 2018, October 10). 

Add text here

add text here

Examples

In a Reference list

Nursing & Midwifery Council. (2018, October 10). The code: Professional standards of practice and             behaviour for nurses, midwifes and nursing                 associates https://www.nmc.org.uk/globalassets/sitedocuments/nmc-publications/nmc-code.pdf

Add text here

add text here

 

---

Clinical Practice Guidelines

Format

Add text here

add text here

Add text here

add text here

Examples

Add text here

Healthcare Infection Control Practices Advisory Committee. (2009). Catheter-associated urinary tract        infections (CAUTI). U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Centers for Disease Control            and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/infectioncontrol/guidelines/cauti/index.html

Add text here

World Health Organization. (2017). Guideline: Protecting, promoting and supporting breastfeeding in facilities providing maternity and newborn services. Guideline Central. https://www.guidelinecentral.com/share/summary/5acc36cc939f5#section-society

Tips

• The guidelines are in sentence case and in italics
• If using the organisation's name as the author, do not repeat the organisation's name after the title (see Example 2)
• Where there is a guidelines number number, include it after the title in brackets, not in italics (see Example 1)
• Use the full publication date if written on the report (See Example 2)
• Use the DOI where available rather than a web link (see Example 1)

An image might be a graph, diagram, photograph, or other picture. In APA, these are referred to as ‘figures’. If you are referencing a table, see the Tables section. Stock images or copyright-free materials do not require a citation or a reference (see APA style guide: Clip Art or Stock Image References ). Your lecturer may permit less formality with images. See your assignment brief for instructions.

Format & Examples

Format 1 (Image copied from another source)	Example 1 (Image copied from a website)
Figure number Descriptive Title of the Image Note.  From Title [Description], author, date, site name (URL), followed by the name of the Creative Commons License, if appropriate.     In the Reference List (e.g. From a Website) Author. (Year). Title [Description], Source. (usually the name of the website) DOI or URL	Figure 1 Weston Library and Students Note.  From Weston Library [Photograph], by Denis Middleton, 2025, Bournemouth University (https://bournemouthuniversity.ac.uk/photos/denismiddleton/westonlibrary). CC BY 2.0.   In the Reference List Middleton, D. (2025). Weston library [Photograph], Bournemouth University. (https://bournemouthuniversity.ac.uk/photos/denismiddleton/westonlibrary)

Format 2 (Image adapted from another source)

Example 2 (Diagram created using information from a book)

Figure number Descriptive Title of the Image Note. Adapted from "Title of Article",  Author, Year, p. x, or Author, Year, Journal Title, volume(issue), p. DOI Copyright holder.     In the Reference List (e.g. From a Journal article) Author. (Year). [Description]. Title of Article. Journal Title, volume (issue number), page DOI or URL

Figure 2 Components of a PESTEL Analysis Note. Adapted from “Business Frameworks for the Modern Age,” by H. Kumar, and M. Kumar, 2018, Components of Harvard Business Review, 108(3), p. 501 (https://doi.org/10.1037/pspp0000023). Copyright 2018 by Harvard Business Publishing.   In the Reference List Kumar, H. and Kumar, M. (2018). [Diagram]. Business Frameworks for the Modern Age. Harvard Business Review,108 (3), p. 501 https://doi.org/10.1037/pspp0000023

Format 3 (Image in presentation or power point)

Example 3 (Image in presentation or power point)

(Figure number and title are optional. The note and reference are required. Your lecturer may permit less formality as appropriate.) Figure number Descriptive Title of the Image Note.  From Title [Description], author, date, site name (URL), followed by the name of the Creative Commons License, if appropriate.   In the Reference List (e.g. From a Website) Author. (Year). Title [Description], Source. (usually the name of the website) DOI or URL

Note.  From Favourite Drinks of BU Librarians [Bar Chart], Hetta Doe, 2025, Doctoral College, Bournemouth University (https://bournemouthuniversity.ac.uk/dc/hdoe.jpg), CC by 2.0.   In the Reference List Doe, H., (2025). Favourite Drinks of BU librarians [Bar Chart], Doctoral College, Bournemouth University. https://bournemouth.ac.uk/postgraduate-research/0903202

Reference List

Images cited in your work need a full reference in your reference list. You do not need a citation or a reference for images that you created yourself, copyright-free images, and stock images.

Tips

• The figure number is in bold. Number your figures based on their order within your assignment
• The descriptive title is in title case and in italics
• There is no need to reference stock images, therefore it's recommended that you use these in assignments. Take note of the specific licensing requirements of creative commons images (CC). They may or may not require attribution. Ask the Library if you are unsure.
• If you have created the image yourself (and not adapted it using information found in another source), you do not need a citation under the image. However, we recommend that you label it with a figure number and description in a formal paper.
• For further guidance on citing images, see APA style guide: Clip Art or Stock Image References and Sample Figures.

Format

Author, N. (Year). Article title.  Journal Title, volume(issue), pages. https://doi.org/xxxx

• Author's family name
• [Comma]
• Author’s initial(s)
• [Full stop]
• Year (in round brackets)
• [Full stop]
• Title of article (in sentence case)
• [Full stop]
• Title of Journal (in title case and italics)
• [Comma]
• Volume number (in italics), issue number (in round brackets)
• [Comma]
• Page numbers
• [Full stop]
• DOI (if there is one)

Examples

Example 1 (Journal article with a DOI)

Chen, H. C., & Pang, N. S. (2022). Sustaining the ecosystem of higher education in China: Perspectives from young researchers. Perspectives in Education, 40(3), 95-117. https://doi.org/10.18820/2519593X/pie.v40.i3.7

Example 2 (Journal article without a DOI or issue number, accessed through mySearch or a library database)

Cairns, J. (2024). Phases of the Buddhist approach to the environment. Journal of Buddhist Ethics, 31, 1-33.

Example 3 (Journal article without a DOI or issue number, accessed through mySearch or a library database)

Nield, S. (2022). Accessible podcasts. ALISS Quarterly, 18(1), 13-15. https://alissnet.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/aliss-vol-18-no.1-oct-2022-draft.pdf

Example 4 (Cochrane Review)

Lane, D. A., & Lip, G. Y. H. (2013). Treatment of hypertension in peripheral arterial disease. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD003075.pub3

Tips

• Journal article title is in sentence case
• Journal title and volume number are in title case and in italics
• If there is no volume or issue number, leave it out (see Example 2)
• Some online articles have article numbers instead of page numbers. After the issue number, write the word Article and then the article number, e.g. Article e0230193
• If the article does not have a DOI and the article is from mySearch or a library database (e.g. EBSCO, JSTOR etc.), there is no need to include a link (see Example 2)
• If the article is from another website with no DOI, use the web link (see Example 3)

Command papers and white papers

Format

Online command paper

Organisation. (Year). Title of the paper (Command paper reference number). https://www.website.com/report

Print command paper

Organisation. (Year). Title of the paper (Command paper reference number). Publisher.

Examples

Example 1 (Online command paper)

Department for Energy Security & Net Zero. (2024). Civil nuclear: Roadmap to 2050 (Cp 1009). https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/media/65c0e7cac43191000d1a457d/6.8610_DESNZ_Civil_Nuclear_Roadmap_report_Final_

Example 2 (Print command paper)

Law Commission. (2002). Sharing homes: A discussion paper (Cm 5666). The Stationery Office.

Tips

• The title is in sentence case and in italics
• The abbreviation used to denote a command paper will change depending on the year of the document. You may see C, Cd, Cmd, Cm, Cp, or Cmnd
• Use the full publication date if written on the report

---

European Union Legislation

Format

Institutional Origin | Legislation Type | Number | Title

Examples

In-text citation: According to Article 50 of Regulation 2002/178/EC . . .

Reference list: European Parliament and Council Regulation 2002/178/EC of 28 January 2002 laying down the general principles and requirements of food law, establishing the European Food Safety Authority and laying down procedures in the matters of food safety.

Tips

• The legislation title is in sentence case and not in italics
• Do not include a link, even if the legislation is found online
• In the in-text citation, give the type of legislation and the number
• It is best practice to use a narrative citation. Avoid putting legislation in brackets (see Example 1b)

---

Hansard House of Commons/Lords debates

Format

HC/HL Deb vol xx col xx (Year, Month Day). Hansard. https://www.website.com/page

Examples

In-text citation: Carbon emissions will be reduced by 68% by 2030 (HC Deb, 2022).

In-text citation within a sentence: "UK has driven down emissions by more than 45%" (HC Deb, 2022).

Reference list: HC Deb vol 718 col 1103 (2022, July 21). Hansard. https://hansard.parliament.uk/commons/2022-07-21/debates/44BE0081-39C0-4F2B-AFAE-507684B55B7E/NetZeroStrategyHighCourtRuling

Tips

• Use HC Deb for a House of Commons debate, and HL Deb for a House of Lords debate

---

Statutory instruments

Format

Title Year, SI Year/Number

Examples

In-text citation: Regulation 4 of the Food Safety and Hygiene (England) Regulation 2013, SI 2013/2996 states that...

Subsequent in-text citation: Regulation 4 of SI 2013/2996 states that . . ..

Reference list: Food Safety and Hygiene (England) Regulation 2013, SI 2013/2996

Tips

• The title is in title case and not in italics
• Do not include a link, even if the statutory instrument is found online
• It is best practice to use a narrative citation. Avoid putting statutory instruments in brackets
• For subsequent in-text citations, use just the SI Year/Number

Format

Print magazine

Author, N. (Year, Month Day). Article title. Magazine Title, pages.

Online magazine

Author, N. (Year, Month Day). Article title. Magazine Title. https://www.website.com/page

Examples

Example 1 (Print magazine)

Taylor, H. (2024, April 26). Is UK inflation still on track? Investors Chronicle, 14-16.

Example 2 (Online magazine)

Adler, T. (2024, July 25).The United States of pizza. Vogue. https://www.vogue.com/article/united-states-of-pizza-restaurant-guide

Tips

• The article title is in sentence case
• The magazine title is in title case and in italics
• If the magazine has a volume and part, follow the format for journal articles

Format

Traditional maps

Author, N. (Year). Map title [Map]. Publisher. https://www.website.com/page

Dynamically created maps (e.g. Google Maps, Apple Maps)

Organisation. (n.d.). [Map description in square brackets]. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from https://www.website.com/page

Examples

Example 1 (Traditional map)

Mudge, W. (1801). An entirely new and accurate survey of the county of Kent, with part of the county of Essex [Map]. Board of Ordnance. http://mapco.net/kent1801/kent1801.htm

Example 2 (Dynamic map)

Google. (n.d.). [Google Maps directions for driving from Bournemouth University to Stratford-upon-Avon]. Retrieved August 7, 2025, from https://maps.app.goo.gl/r9wcCyc1Lx3YZEeX8

Tips

• The title is in sentence case and in italics
• The author for dynamically created maps should be the organisation name (e.g. Google), rather than the application name (Google Maps)
• If the map is dynamically created, use n.d. instead of the year. After the title, give the retrieval date (see Example 2)
• If there is no clear title (e.g. directions on Google Maps) give a description of the map in square brackets and not in italics (see Example 2)

Format

Music score with a composer

Composer, N. (Year). Music score title [Type of score]. Publisher.

Republished music score with a composer

In-text citation: Composer, Year of the republication/Year originally published

Reference list: Composer, N. (Year). Music score title [Type of score]. Publisher. (Original work published Year)

Examples

Example 1 (Music score with a composer)

Marianelli, D. (2006). Pride and prejudice: Music from the motion picture soundtrack [Musical score]. Wise Publications.

Example 2 (Republished music score with a composer)

In-text citation: (Verdi, 2002/1853)

Reference list: Verdi, G. (2002). Brindisi from la traviata [Vocal score]. Oxford University Press. (Original work published 1853)

Tips

• The title is in sentence case and in italics
• Specify the type of score in square brackets (e.g., [Musical score], [Piano score], [Vocal score], [Study score])
• For a republished score, include the year it was republished as the main date of the reference. At the end of reference in round brackets, write the words 'Original work published' and the year of original publication (see Example 2)

Format

Music album

Artist, N. (Year). Album title [Album]. Production Company.

Song

Artist, N. (Year). Song title [Song]. On Album title. Production Company.

Examples

Example 1 (Music album)

Linkin Park. (2003). Meteora [Album]. Warner Bros.

Example 2 (Song)

Dion, C. (1996). Because you loved me [Song]. On Falling into you. Columbia; Epic.

Tips

• The song title is in sentence case
• The album title is in sentence case and in italics
• Include [Album] or [Song] after the album or song title
• Separate the production company with a semi-colon where there is more than one company (see Example 2)

Format

Named author

Author, N. (Year, Month Day). Article title. News Website. https://www.website.com/page

If no author, use the news website as the author

News Website. (Year, Month Day). Article title. https://www.website.com/page

Examples

Example 1 (Article with a named author)

Nachiappan, A. (2023, December 20). AI cannot be named as the inventor, Supreme Court rules in patent dispute. Sky News. https://news.sky.com/story/ai-cannot-be-named-as-the-inventor-supreme-court-rules-in-patent-dispute-13034816

Example 2 (Article without a named author)

BBC News. (2024, May 29). Lost John Lennon guitar sets record at auction. https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/cy00eppxk80o

Tips

• The article title is in sentence case and in italics
• To reference the online version of a newspaper which is also published in print (e.g. The Financial Times) see the Newspaper articles section below

Format

Author, N. (Year, Month Day). Article title. Newspaper Title. https://www.website.com/article

Examples

Plimmer, G., Mooney, A., & Bott, I. (2024, May 8). Holding back the floods for 40 years: Thames Barrier is due an upgrade. Financial Times. https://www.ft.com/content/027a0d94-90f6-4841-94c1-b974ac895adb

Tips

• The article title is in sentence case
• The newspaper title is in title case and in italics
• If the newspaper article is in print, not online, use the same format but leave out the link

Your own work (primary data) does not require citation and referencing if you have not submitted or published it on any platform (e.g. Turnitin) before. If you want to include material that you have submitted or published before, check with your lecturer first, and then follow the format below.

Format

Author, N. (Year). Title [Unpublished name of assignment and module code]. University Name.

Examples

Jones, A. (2024). The pitch presentation [Unpublished assignment submitted for 6016MFH]. Bournemouth University.

Tips

• The title is in sentence case and in italics
• The unpublished information is in [square brackets]

A PDF is a file format rather than a source type and there are no specific APA guidelines. Instead, identify the source type, whether a report, journal article, leaflet, etc. and follow the guidance for that source.

Personal communications include emails, interviews, phone calls and unrecorded lectures. Where these have been published (e.g. an interview published in a magazine) follow the referencing guidelines for that type of resource. Personal communications are only referenced using in-text citations. You do not give an entry in the list of references, as the information has not been published anywhere for you to reference.

Format

Narrative citation

N. Author (personal communication, Month Day, Year)

Parenthetical citation

(N. Author, personal communication, Month Day, Year)

Examples

Example 1 (Narrative citation)

J. Clewes (personal communication, May 3, 2024) suggested that…

Example 2 (Parenthetical citation)

(K. Dodhia, personal communication, June 15, 2024)

Tips

• Authors’ names are formatted with the initial(s) of their given name(s), a full stop, and then their family name/surname
• If you interviewed someone as part of your data collection for your own primary research, you do not need to provide an in-text citation

To reference a photograph, you must first identify where the photograph has come from, and its intended use in your assignment.

• Photograph from another source (book, journal article, website): see Images, figures and graphs
• Photograph from social media (Instagram, X etc.): see Social media
• Photograph in an art gallery or museum: see Artwork in a gallery or museum
• Photograph you have taken yourself: see Images, figures and graphs
• Photographs used to decorate your work, rather than to demonstrate a point

Format

A whole podcast series

Host, N. (Host). (Year-Year). Podcast title [Audio podcast]. Production Company. https://www.website.com/page

A specific episode

Host, N. (Host). (Year, Month Day). Episode title (No. x) [Audio podcast episode]. In Podcast title. Production Company. https://www.website.com/page

Examples

Example 1 (A whole podcast series)

Rachman, G. (Host). (2019–present). Rachman review [Audio podcast]. Financial Times. https://www.ft.com/rachman-review

Example 2 (A specific episode)

Campbell, A., & Stewart, R. (Hosts). (2024, April 10). What Britain really thinks of politics (No. 253) [Audio podcast episode]. In The rest is politics. Goalhanger Podcasts. https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/what-britain-really-thinks-of-politics/id1611374685?i=1000651929901

Tips

• The episode title is in sentence case
• The whole podcast title is in sentence case and in italics
• If the host is unclear, give the executive producers as the authors and write (Executive producers) after their names
• If you do not have a link (e.g. because you have listened to the podcast through an app), leave it out
• If the podcast episodes do not use numbers, leave it out

Format

Presenter, N. (Year, Month Day). Title [Radio broadcast]. Radio Station. https://www.website.com/page

Examples

Razzle, K. (2024, May 29). The media show: Is this the TikTok election? [Radio broadcast]. BBC Radio 4. https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/m001zngb

Tips

• The title is in sentence case and in italics
• Give the radio presenter (host) as the author. If the presenter is not obvious, give the executive producer as the author
• If you do not have a link (e.g. because you have listened live or through an app), leave it out

Format

In-text citations

Title (Year of original publication/Year of version you read) OR (Title, Year of original publication/Year of version you read)

Reference list

Religious work read in a book

Title (N. Translator, Trans.; Edition). (Year). Publisher.

Religious work read on a website

Title. (Year). Website Name. https://www.website.com/page (Original work published Year)

Examples

Example 1 (Religious work read in a book, including a translator and edition)

In-text citation: (The Bhagavad Gita, 2007) or The Bhagavad Gita (2007) discusses . . .

Reference list: The Bhagavad Gita (E. Easwaran, Trans.; 2nd ed.). (2007). The Blue Mountain Center of Meditation.

Example 2 (Religious work read on a website, including an original published date)

In-text citation: (King James Bible, 1769/2017) or King James Bible (1769/2017) states . . .

Reference list: King James Bible. (2017). King James Bible Online. https://www.kingjamesbibleonline.org/ (Original work published 1769)

Tips

• Religious works are usually treated as having no author. Use the title as the author in both the in-text citation and reference. In the in-text citation, the title should remain in italics
• The title is in title case and in italics
• If there is no edition, or original published date, leave it out

Format

Named author

 

Author, N. (Year). Report title. Organisation. https://doi.org/xxxxx or https://www.website.com/report

• Author's family name
• [Comma]
• Author’s initial(s)
• [Full stop]
• Year (in round brackets)
• [Full stop]
• Report title (in sentence case and in italics)
• [Full stop]
• Organisation
• [Full stop]
• Website link

If no author, use the organisation’s name as the author

 

Organisation. (Year). Report title. https://doi.org/xxxxx or https://www.website.com/report

• Organisation
• [Full stop]
• Year (in round brackets)
• [Full stop]
• Report title (in sentence case and in italics)
• [Full stop]
• Website link

Examples

Example 1 (Named author, a DOI, and published as part of a series)

 

Russell, H., & Smyth, E. (2024). Caregiving among young adults in Ireland (ESRI Research Series 168). Economic & Social Research Institute. https://doi.org/10.26504/rs168

Example 2 (Report with the organisation as author. Date written in full)

 

National Audit Office. (2024, March 15). Use of artificial intelligence in government (Session 2023-24 HC 612). https://www.nao.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2024/03/use-of-artificial-intelligence-in-government.pdf

Example 3 (No DOI. The web link is to the home page as it is a subscription database which requires a login)

 

Shao, D. (2023). Supermarkets, China 2023. Mintel. https://clients.mintel.com/

Example 4 (World Health Organization)

World Health Organization. (2023). World health statistics 2023: Monitoring health for the SDGs, sustainable      development goals. https://www.who.int/publications/i/item/9789240074323

 

Tips

• The report title is in sentence case and in italics
• If using the organisation's name as the author, do not repeat the organisation's name after the title (see Example 2)
• Where there is a report number, include it after the title in brackets, not in italics (see Example 1)
• Use the full publication date if written on the report (See Example 2)
• Use the DOI where available rather than a web link (see Example 1)
• If accessing a report on a subscription database that requires a login, use the link to the homepage (see Example 3)
• For more information on Government reports, see the Government reports section above

Format

Author, N. [Username]. (Year, Month Day). Title or first 20 words of post [Type of post]. Social Media Site. www.socialmedia.com/user/post

Examples

Example 1 (Instagram photo)

National Geographic [@natgeo]. (2020, December 10). A 1912 replica of West Virginia's Stonewall Jackson has recently been removed at the Virginia Military Institute [Photograph]. Instagram. https://www.instagram.com/p/CImHuqcMJUL/

Example 2 (X post with image attached)

Paralympic Games [@paralympics]. (2024, April 1). It's our #ParaCanoe sports week! Get to know more about this Para sport as we head into the @Paris2024 Paralympic [Image attached] [Post]. X. https://x.com/Paralympics/status/1774776204903469364

Example 3 (TikTok video)

Coventry University Library [@covunilibrary]. (2024, March 7). Today is World Book Day and we just want you to read a book! 📚💛💙 It doesn't matter [Video]. TikTok. https://www.tiktok.com/@covunilibrary/video/7343537583827275041

Example 4 (A whole profile)

Swift, T. [@taylorswift]. (n.d.). Posts [Instagram profile]. Instagram. Retrieved June 9, 2024, from https://www.instagram.com/taylorswift

Tips

• For the author, use the profile name followed by the username in [square brackets]
• Use the caption/text of the post as the title. Only use the first 20 words of the post as the title (see Example 3)
• The title is in whichever case is used in the post and in italics. Emojis should not be in italics
• Each emoji is counted as one word

When to reference software

You do not need to reference software if it is commonly used in your field (e.g. Microsoft Word or SPSS) unless you have quoted or paraphrased from the software. You also do not need to reference programming languages (e.g. Python or C#). Just state the name of the software or programming language in your assignment. If a piece of software is not in common use, or if you have quoted or paraphrased from it, include a reference.

Console games

APA 7th edition provides guidance for referencing computer software and mobile apps, but does not cover console games. If you need to reference a video game, particularly if it is available across multiple consoles, you may need to adapt the format below to make it clear which version you have used.

Format

Author, N. (Year). Title of software (Version number) [Type of software]. Publisher. https://www.website.com/app

Examples

Example 1 (Computer software)

Barone, E. (2024). Stardew Valley (Version 1.6.8) [Computer software]. ConcernedApe. https://store.steampowered.com/app/413150/Stardew_Valley/

Example 2 (Mobile app)

Nintendo. (2020). Animal crossing: Pocket camp (Version 3.2.0) [Mobile app]. Google Play Store. https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.nintendo.zaca&hl=en_GB

Tips

• The title is in sentence case and in italics
• Version in brackets, e.g. (Version 1.0)
• Type of software in square brackets, e.g. [Computer software] or [Mobile app]

Format

Standards

Organisation. (Year). Standard title (Standard number). Publisher. https://www.website.com/standard

Patents

Inventor, N. (Year Patent Issued). Patent title (Patent Number). Patent Office. https://www.website.com/page

Examples

Standards

British Standards Institution. (2022). Project, programme and portfolio management. Guidance on programme management (BS ISO 21503:2022). British Standards Institution. https://bsol.bsigroup.com/Bibliographic/BibliographicInfoData/000000000030437073

Patents

Dalgarno, M. R. (2015). Fire resistant ducting systems (GB2517476). UK Intellectual Property Office. https://worldwide.espacenet.com/publicationDetails/biblio?DB=EPODOC&II=0&ND=3&adjacent=true&FT=D&date=20150225&CC=GB&NR=2517476A&KC=A#

Tips

Standards

• The title is in sentence case and in italics
• The standard number is in brackets

Patents

• Use the inventor as the author
• The patent title is in sentence case and in italics

Format & Examples

Format 1 (Table produced using your own data)	Example 1 (Table produced using your own data)
Table number Descriptive Title of the Table Heading Heading Heading Item Data Data Item Data Data Item Data Data Note. Add any notes to explain the table here (optional)	Table 1 Favourite Biscuits of BU Librarians   1st Choice 2nd Choice Chocolate Digestives 5 7 Custard Creams 4 3 Bourbons 3 1

Format 2 (Table adapted from another source)

Example 2 (Table adapted using information from a website)

Table number Descriptive Title of the Table Heading Heading Heading Item Data Data Item Data Data Item Data Data Note. Adapted from "Title of Article," by Initials. Surname, Year, Title of Journal, volume(issue number), page (DOI). Copyright of Publisher.

Table 2 Diabetes Registrations by Age Group in England*   Type 1 (%) Type 2 (%) Aged under 40 45 4.6 Aged 40-64 39.7 44.1 Aged over 64 15.2 51.3 Note. *This includes data from 2023-2024. Adapted from “Assessment of Diabetes,” by E. E. Buckels, A. T. Beall, M. K. Hofer, E. Y. Lin, Z. Zhou, and M. Schaller, 2024, Diabetes, 108(3), p. 501 (https://doi.org/10.1037/pspp0000023). Copyright 2024 by NHS England.

 

Format 3 (Table created from multiple sources)

There are several ways to reference a table when using multiple sources:

• Describe the sources for each section underneath the table when the information can be easily separated (see Example 3a)
• Include in-text citations within the body of the table itself, following the normal in-text citation rules (see Example 3b)
• Use specific notes when impractical to include an in-text citation within the body of the table. Specific notes are superscript letters (^a, ^b, ^c) to indicate that the information is taken from another source. The superscript letters are then repeated underneath the table, with the corresponding in-text citation (see Example 3c)
• If different pieces of information are taken from the same source, use the same letter and include only one in-text citation underneath the table (see Example 3c)

 

Format 3a (Table created from multiple sources)	Example 3aTable created from multiple sources)
Table number Descriptive Title of the Table Heading Heading Heading Item Data Data Item Data Data Item Data Data Data in column 2 from Author (year, p. x) Data in column 3 from Author (year, p. x)	Table 3 Population (2023) and Projected Population (2050)   2023 2050 Nigeria 223.8m 377.4m Ethiopia 126.5m 214.8m Egypt 112.7m 160.3m Data in column 2 from Statistia (2023) Data in column 3 from World Health Organization (2024)

Format 3b (In-text citations in the table itself)	Example 3b (In-text citations in the table itself)
Table number Descriptive Title of the Table Heading Heading Heading Item Data (Author, year, p. x) Data (Author, year, p. x) Item Data (Author, year, p. x) Data (Author, year, p. x)	Table 3 A Comparison of Views About Cats and Dogs   Cat People Dog People   Cat Cat people appreciate the independent nature of cats (Catarall, 2020, p. 53). Wolf (2021) suggests that cats may not be as affectionate as dogs (p. 77).   Dog Catarall (2022) argues that dogs need too much attention from their owners (p. 4). Dog people consider dogs to be ‘man’s best friend’ (Barker, 2022, p. 28).

Format 3c (Superscript notes in the table)	Example 3c (Superscript notes in the table)
Table number Descriptive Title of the Table Heading Heading Heading Item Dataa Datab Item Datac Dataa a From Author (year, p. x) b From Author (year, p. x) c From Author (year, p. x)	Table 3 Average Olympic Opening Ceremonies Viewership*   London 2012 Tokyo 2020 United Kingdom 23.02ma 2.5mb Australia 2.5mc 2.7mb a From Plunkett (2012) b From Coster (2021) c From Bulbeck (2012) *this includes live viewership only

Tips

• The table number is in bold. Number your tables based on their order within your assignment
• The descriptive title is in title case and in italics
• Regarding the number of authors (use of et al.) and page numbers, follow the normal in-text citation rules
• If you have created the table yourself (and not adapted it using information found in another source), you do not need an in-text citation under the table (see Example 1) 
• Include a reference list entry for the table, except if you have created it yourself

Format

In-text citation

(Author, Year of original publication/Year of version you read) OR Author (Year of original publication/Year of version you read)

Reference list

In a book

Author, N. (Year of the version you read). Title (N. Translator, Trans. or N. Editor, Ed.). Publisher. (Original work published Year)

On a website

Author, N. (Year of the version you read). Title (N. Translator, Trans. or N. Editor, Ed.). Website Name. https://doi.org/xxxxx (Original work published Year)

Examples

Example 1 (A book with an estimated date of original publication)

In-text citation: (Arrian, ca. 330 B.C.E./1971) or Arrian (ca. 330 B.C.E./1971) suggests . . .

Reference list: Arrian. (1971). The campaigns of Alexander (A. de Sélincourt, Trans.). Penguin Books. (Original work published ca. 330 B.C.E.)

Example 2 (A website)

In-text citation: (Shakespeare, 1623/2014) or Shakespeare (1623/2014) encourages . . .

Reference list: Shakespeare, W. (2014). The taming of the shrew (B. A. Mowat & P. Werstine, Eds.). Folger Shakespeare Library. https://shakespeare.folger.edu/shakespeares-works/the-taming-of-the-shrew/download/ (Original work published 1623)

Tips

• The title is in sentence case and in italics
• If the original date of publication is an estimate, write ca. before the date. This stands for ‘circa’
• Check with your academic staff before using non-English sources as evidence in your academic work
• Ancient and classic works may not have typical page numbers. To pinpoint a specific piece of information, use the numbering system in the publication when creating an in-text citation, see direct quotation of material without page numbers
• If there are multiple editors use ‘Eds.’ (see Example 2) 
• Use the web link when no DOI is available
• See the APA style guide for information citing your own translations
• For information on citing republished translations, see how to cite translated works 

Format

A whole TV series

Producer, N. (Executive Producer). (Year-Year). Series title [TV series]. Production Company.

A specific episode

Writer, N. (Writer & Director). (Year, Month Day). Title of episode (Season 1, Episode 1) [TV series episode]. In N. Producer (Executive Producers), Series title. Production Company.

Examples

Example 1 (A whole TV series)

Schur, M., Miner, D., Sackett, M., & Goddard, D. (Executive Producers). (2016-2020). The good place [TV series]. Fremulon; 3 Arts Entertainment; Universal Television.

Example 2 (A specific episode)

Levy, D. (Writer), & Canning, J. (Director). (2020, March 31). Start spreading the news (Season 6, Episode 13) [TV series episode]. In E. Levy, D. Levy, F. Levy, A. Barnsley, B. Feigin, & D. West Read (Executive Producers), Schitt’s creek. Not A Real Company Productions; Canadian Broadcasting Company.

Tips

• The TV series title is in sentence case and in italics
• The episode title is in sentence case
• For a whole TV series, state the year or years the series first aired in brackets (See Example 1)
• If the TV series is still airing, use 'present' as the second date, e.g. (2010-present)
• For a specific episode, state the date the episode first aired in brackets (See Example 2)
• Separate the production company with a semi-colon where there is more than one company (see Example 1 and 2)

Unpublished documents includes material submitted, but not yet published, internal and confidential information. Talk to your lecturer if you are unsure about confidentiality in your assignment, it may sometimes be appropriate to add an anonymised extract of the document to an appendix to provide context for the reader.

University lectures are not published sources to be used as academic evidence in your work (except when an academic grants permission to do so). The purpose of an academic's lecture (e.g. recordings, slides and notes posted on Brightspace units) is to aid your learning and direct you to sources for independent study and revision.

 

Format

Unpublished confidential documents

Anonymised author. (Year). Title [Unpublished document].

Unpublished documents

Author. (Year). Title [Unpublished document]. Department, Company. 

Lectures

Lecturer, N. (Date). Title of lecture [Format]. Website. https://www.website.com/page/

 

Examples

Example 1 (Unpublished confidential document)

Company A. (2023). [Company A’s] procurement strategy 2023-2028 [Unpublished document]. 

Example 2 (Unpublished document)

Breen, A.C., 2019. Research Protocol - Characteristics of lumbar spine intervertebral kinematics in healthy adults and their reproducibility over time: A standardised reference and reliability study for future explanatory trials of mechanical interventions for non-specific low back pain, Version 2. Bournemouth: Anglo-European College of Chiropractic. Unpublished.

Example 3 (Unpublished internal document)

Vaughan, P. (2024).  Collection development strategy [Unpublished document]. Lanchester Library, Coventry University. 

Example 4 (Lectures)

Chapman, A., & Walter, R. (2025, July 12). Asynchronous video interviews: An authentic assessment format for HRM [PowerPoint slides]. Brightspace. https://bournemouth.cloud.panopto.eu/Panopto/Pages/Viewer.aspx?id=82e0ebbd-5f12-4d5e-8a57-b31400b8a7f2

Tips

• The title is in sentence case and in italics
• Anonymise part or all of the title where the title will reveal the identity of the organisation. Place the anonymised part in [square brackets] (see Example 1) or use a descriptive title in [square brackets] to anonymise the whole title, which will not be in italics (see Example 2)
• If an internal document has no author, use the department as the author and do not repeat this later in the reference
• Use the date the lecture was delivered. This could be (Year), (Year, Month) or (Year, Month Day) depending on the information available
• If the hosting site requires a login such as Brightspace, use the homepage link, not the link to the module page (see Example)

Format

Videos on a video sharing platform (YouTube, Vimeo etc.)

Uploader. (Year, Month Day). Video title [Video]. Video Platform. https://www.website.com/video

Videos on social media (TikTok, Instagram, X etc.)

Author, N. [Username]. (Year, Month Day). Title or first 20 words of post [Video]. Social Media Site. https://www.socialmedia.com/user/post

Examples

Example 1 (Videos on a video sharing platform)

TED. (2024, February 5). How babies think about danger | Shari Liu | TED [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6djPLVa9aQ4

Example 2 Example 2 (Videos on social media)

Coventry University Library [@covunilibrary]. (2024, March 7). Today is World Book Day and we just want you to read a book! 📚💛💙 It doesn't matter [Video]. TikTok. https://www.tiktok.com/@covunilibrary/video/7343537583827275041

Tips

• The video title is in sentence case and in italics
• For YouTube videos or similar, the name of the uploader/channel will likely be the author (see Example 1)
• For videos on social media, the author is the profile name followed by the username in [square brackets] (see Example 2)
• Authors can also be formatted in the way that best helps to identify them e.g. Johnson, D. [The Rock]
• If the speaker in the video is not the same as the uploader, integrate this into your sentence e.g. Liu discusses how babies perceive danger (TED, 2024)
• For transcripts, see transcript of an audiovisual work

Format

Website with named author

 

Author, N. (Date). Title of the specific webpage. Website Name. https://www.website.com/page

• Author's family name
• [Comma]
• Author’s initial(s)
• [Full stop]
• Year (in round brackets)
• [Full stop]
• Title of the specific webpage (in sentence case and in italics)
• [Full stop]
• Organisation or website’s name
• [Full stop]
• Website link

If no author, use the organisation’s name as the author

 

Website Name. (Date). Title of the specific webpage. https://www.website.com/page

• Organisation or website’s name
• [Full stop]
• Year (in round brackets)
• [Full stop]
• Title of the specific webpage (in sentence case and in italics)
• [Full stop]
• Website link

Examples

Example 1 (Named author)

 

Wolfram, S. (2025, May 21). What if we had bigger brains? Imagining minds beyond ours. Stephen Wolfram Writings. https://writings.stephenwolfram.com/2025/05/what-if-we-had-bigger-brains-imagining-minds-beyond-ours/

Example 2 (Organisation as the author)

 

Health and Care Professions Council. (2023). The standards of proficiency for paramedics. https://www.hcpc-uk.org/standards/standards-of-proficiency/paramedics/

Example 3 (A freely available website (i.e. no login required) with changing content, such as a government data table.)

 

U.S. Census Bureau. (n.d.). U.S. and world population clock. U.S. Department of Commerce. Retrieved January 9, 2020, from https://www.census.gov/popclock/

Tips

• The title of the webpage is in sentence case and in italics
• Use the date the page was published – this could be (Year), (Year, Month) or (Year, Month Day) depending on the information available (see Examples 1 and 2).
• If an exact year or date is not known, an approximate date preceded by ‘ca.’ (short for circa) may be supplied e.g. (ca.1750). If no such approximation is possible, use no date (n.d.). See Example 3 and Missing reference information.
• However it may be preferable to cite the year in which the page was accessed, e.g. (ca. 2020), rather than use (n.d).
• If a website changes regularly (e.g. a data dashboard), include the specific date you accessed the website (Month Day, Year) before the web address (see Example 3).
• If there is no clear title, provide a description of the web page in [square brackets] and do not use italics. See Example 3.
• If you are quoting a webpage, and a page number is not available, include the section or paragraph. (See Direct quotation of material without page numbers for an example)
• If using the website name as the author, do not repeat the website name after the title (see Example 2)