Skip to main content

Media Production: Media Production Information Resources for Research and Assignments

Library resources guide for the Media Production framework; Film, Media Production, Music, Radio, Scriptwriting and Television.

Specialist Resources

Audience Research Data
This data is expensive to collect and very expensive to buy.  The Library does not subscribe to the publications of BARB (Broadcasting Audience Research Board), RAJAR (Radio Joint Audience Research) or the current publications of National Readership Surveys (formerly JICNARS). However, a substantial amount of data is published on their websites.

BoB: Box of Broadcasts
Access TV and radio programmes from over 65 'free-to-air' channels using a programme guide and a search option. Option to schedule recordings up to seven days in advance and request programmes broadcast over the previous 30 days.  Search BoB to access other users' recorded programmes. Permanent archive of all broadcast content from nine channels: BBC1 London / BBC2 / BBC4 / ITV London / Channel 4 / More4 / Channel 5 / BBC Radio 4 / BBC Radio 4 Extra. Content plays in your web browser with access available both on and off campus. 

Creative Club
This database of over 1.5 million advertisements from 1998, including television commercials, is available via the ‘Alphabetical list of databases’ link on the Brightspace Library tab.

Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias
Use dictionaries to find the meanings of terms and encyclopaedias to provide you with background information on particular topics. To find relevant titles, search the Library Catalogue using terms such as cinema, television or music in combination with dictionary or encyclopaedia. ‘New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians’, Vols. 1 – 20 (Shelf mark: 780.3 NEW, fourth floor of The Sir Michael Cobham Library) is one example.

Film Reviews
Film reviews, such as Halliwell’s Film, Video and DVD Guide (Shelf mark: 791.4375 HAL), can inform you about the content of a film, the performers involved and provide evaluative comments. They may appear in newspapers, magazines and, in a more serious form, in film journals such as Film Quarterly (USA) and Sight and Sound (UK)

Moving Images
BUFVC Off-Air Recording Back-Up Service Collection May 1998-April 2006. The University has an agreement with the British Universities Film and Video Council (BUFVC) to hold their Off-Air Recording Back Up Collection (currently all UK terrestrial broadcasts, May 1998- April 2006). Requests for copies from this collection are made by completing and Off Air Request Form with the full title, broadcast time, broadcast date of the programme, together with a blank video or DVD-R. Hand this in at the Library Information desk.

Reviews of British Television and Radio Programmes
Sunday broadsheet newspapers and popular magazines, such as Radio Times, have reviews of television and radio programmes for the previous week as well as schedules for programmes to be broadcast in the week following publication.

mySearch

mySearch link

mySearch is an interface which allows you to search across a range of library resources simultaneously, including databases, e-journals and e-books.

Discovery Service

Databases

The most useful databases for this subject area are:

Academic Search Ultimate:  Multidisciplinary

Communication and Mass Media Complete: Additional database on communications research

International Film Archive (FIAF): Articles from film and television journals

BoB: Box of Broadcasts

To access click the ‘sign in’ button on the home screen, enter Bournemouth University in the "Where are you from?" box, click "Go" and login using your normal BU username and password.

  • Subject coverage: access TV and radio programmes from over 65 'free-to-air' channels using a programme guide and a search option. Option to schedule recordings up to seven days in advance and request programmes broadcast over the previous 30 days.  Search BoB to access other users' recorded programmes. Permanent archive of all broadcast content from nine channels: BBC1 London / BBC2 / BBC4 / ITV London / Channel 4 / More4 / Channel 5 / BBC Radio 4 / BBC Radio 4 Extra. Content plays in your web browser with access available both on and off campus. 
  • Type of content: TV and radio programmes
  • Date range: 2007 to present
  • Level of access: BU staff/student login required; registration required on first use. Available off-campus, but not outside the UK.