Geography, Ecology and Environmental Sciences: Use Dictionaries

Credo Reference - Online reference books including encyclopaedias, dictionaries and thesauri in a wide range of subject areas.

Oxford English Dictionary - the best dictionary to use for your writing

Garner's Environmental Law by Garner, J. F. 

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online - English, French, German, Spanish and Italian

The most useful databases for this subject area are:

• Academic Search Ultimate: A multidisciplinary database. 
• GreenFILE: Database covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. 
• JSTOR: A digitized collection of core scholarly journals. 
• SCOPUS: An abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. 
• ScienceDirect: Full-text content of over 1700 Elsevier journals. 
• Web of Science: An abstract and citation database of research literature

All of these databases can be accessed either via the Alphabetical list of databases webpage or via the Resources by subject webpage. 

Online

Nexis Uni is a full-text database of local, regional, national, and international newspapers. It also includes journals, broadcasts, newswires, blogs, legal sources, and business/company information.

Lexis Library – provides access to more than 100 national and regional UK newspapers.

Have a look at the full listing of online newspaper databases, including links to historical collections.  

Print

The Library holds various newspapers in print. Check the Library catalogue for details of our holdings. 

Microfilm

The Library holds various newspapers in microfilm (including The Guardian and the Times). Check the Library catalogue for details of our holdings.

British Library Newspaper Library

If we do not hold the newspaper you need, then you may want to consider visiting the British Library's News Media collections.