Skip to main content

Archaeology and Anthropology: Aerial/Satellite Images

United Kingdom

These sites allow navigation of aerial photographs around the UK. 

The Britain from Above website features images from the Aerofilms collection of 1.26 million negatives and more than 2000 photograph albums, dating from 1919 to 2006.  It includes the largest and most significant number of air photographs of Britain taken before 1939. On the website 95,000 of the Aerofilms collection of aerial photographs from 1919-1953 are being digitised and made available.

CUCAP is the result of airborne survey campaigns which were started in 1947. The collection has grown to almost 500,000 images of obliques and verticals in black and white, colour and infra-red. Britain is almost completely covered.

The National Mapping Programme (NMP) is a standard for mapping and recording archaeological sites and landscapes from aerial photographs and other airborne remote sensed data such as lidar. The National Heritage Protection Plan (NHPP) provides the framework for NMP projects, in particular NHPP Activity 3A4: Identification of Terrestrial Assets via Non-Intrusive Survey.

Geomatics is a specialist group within the Environment Agency. They offer 100% discount on all non-commercial use. Their products include LIDAR, CASI (Hyperspectral Imaging), Bathymetry, Digital Aerial Photography, and thermal imaging.

NCAP is the National Collection of Aerial Photography. It is one of the largest collections of aerial imagery in the world, containing tens of millions of aerial images featuring historic events and places around the world. It is the role of NCAP to collect and secure the future of these records, both digital and physical, to preserve them for generations to come, and to make them as accessible and available as possible.

Site which makes it possible to view georeferenced historical maps as overlays on satellite images. 

 

International Space Station

International Resources

United States Geological Survey (USGS) service providing access to datasets, images and maps, including geospatial data, satellite images and aerial photographs

Dataset of astronaut photographs taken of earth. It is possible to browse by city or region, or to click on a map to select an image. 

Provides real time infrared and visible imagery from GOES (Geostationary Operational Environmental Satellites), Metrosat and MTSAT.

A widely used resource with satellite images - it is possible to download Earth Pro on Desktop, which allows the use of measurement tools, GIS tools, and historical imagery. 

OpenGeoscience is a free service where you can view maps, download data, scans, photos and other information.

View the latest satellite images by selecting a region from the map, or from the drop-down list.