mySearch is an interface which allows you to search across a range of library resources simultaneously, including books, journal articles and databases.
Journals are a key sources of knowledge for many academic disciplines. They can contain:
Many journals are peer-reviewed, which means each article has been assessed for quality by independent experts in those fields before publication.
Search for journal articles using any of these key databases. Guidance is available via the Academic Skills Hub on how to put an effective search together.
| mySearch | Searches across a range of databases for library resources simultaneously, including books and journal articles. |
| EBSCO Databases Search | Searches across all the specialist databases BU subscribes to from a company called EBSCO. It includes results from Arts and Architecture Complete, Communication Source and Academic Search Ultimate which include journals relating to film studies. |
| Scopus | A bibliographic database which indexes a very large number of journals, including in Film Studies. It's citation tracking feature is very helpful for identifying related articles based on citations. Scopus is a rival to Web of Science, another similar database we also have access to. |
| Web of Science | A bibliographic database which indexes a very large number of journals, including in Film Studies. It's citation tracking feature is very helpful for identifying related articles based on citations. Web of Science is a rival to Scopus, another similar database we also have access to. |
| Google Scholar | A popular tool used for finding academic sources on the internet. It has advantages and disadvantages and it can be considered an 'additional' tool to use in conjunction with BU Library search tools. See our guide in the Academic Skills Hub. |
Access these specialist databases from the Film subject resource list
Browsing specialist journals dedicated to publishing research from specific disciples can be a helpful approach to keeping up-to-date with the latest findings. The title of the journal gives a clue to it's focus, but you can find a detailed description of the topics covered on the journal's website. Once you've found a journal(s) specialising in your area of interest, you can set-up alerts to be notified when new issues are released.
Here's a list of some of the key journals in Film: