Skip to main content

Creative Technology: Books

Library guide for courses within the Department of Creative Technology

Library Catalogue search

Using the Library catalogue

Shelfmarks explained

When you search the Library catalogue for the item that you want, the book record will display a shelfmark that tells you where the item is shelved.

The shelfmark will look like this:

006.6/LAN

The shelfmark is based on the Dewey Decimal Classification scheme and is displayed on the spine of the book. The numbers denote the subject of the book and the letters are the first three letters of the author's surname. The Library catalogue will also tell you what floor the item is located on.  

Finding print books on the Library catalogue

The Library's book collection can be accessed using the Library catalogue. When you find a print book, note down the details of the shelfmark, including the letters after the number e.g. 371.30281 COT.

Can't find the book you need?

  • Is the book out on loan? - Place a reservation
  • Is the book at another library site? - Place a reservation
  • Have you checked the reshelving trolleys?

Main subject areas in the Library

Subject - Shelfmark

Audio Engineering 621.3893

Computer Graphics 006.6

Digital Audio 006.5

Film Music 782.85

Game Design 794.815

Game Programming 006.693

Game Theory 519.3

Music 780

Music History 780.9

Music Recording 789.91

Music Scores 780.2

Music Theory 781

Signal Processing 621.38043

Finding e-books on the Library catalogue

 

The Library's e-books can be accessed using the Library catalogue. When you find an e-book, click on the full-text link in the book record to access the full text. 

Can't access the e-book?

Some e-books are single-user only, which means that only one person can view at any one time.

If you can't get access to the book, try again later. If you are still having problems - let us know.

E-book Collections

The majority of our e-books can be accessed via the Library catalogue, but they can also be accessed via our e-books collection. 

There are additional benefits of using the e-book collections. 

Full text searching 

Search within the text of all the e-books held in a particular collection for a subject or keyword. This is an efficient way to find relevant information on a particular topic.

Download e-books 

In some cases (but not all), entire e-books Ebook Central Academic Complete are available to download for a specified loan period. For more information on how to download an entire e-book, see our LibGuide How to download e-books to e-readers.