LibGuides: Events: Websites & Industry News

How do I search for an article in a specific journal or trade magazine? How do I check which journal titles and trade magazines BU subscribes to?

Answer: enter title of journal or magazine into mySearch journal title search

Events Industry Health and Safety Resources

The Purple Guide
Health and Safety Executive's Guidance: Entertainment and Leisure Industry
HSE is a UK Government organization
Health and Safety Executive's Guidance: Running Events Safely
This website will help organisers run events safely. HSE is a UK Government organization.
Barbour Environment, Health and Safety
Access some full text documentation on legislation, regulations and standards, including HSE, Environment Agency and BSI, plus case law and prosecutions from key sources.
British Standards Online
Access full text British Standards (BS); British adopted European Standards (BS EN) and British adopted International Standards (BS ISO).
For example, find British Standards on event crowd safety, outdoor events, amusement rides.
What is a Standard?
A standard is an agreed way of doing something. It could be about making a product, managing a process, delivering a service or supplying materials . Standards can cover a huge range of activities undertaken by organizations and used by their customers. Standards are the distilled wisdom of people with expertise in their subject matter and who know the needs of the organizations they represent – people such as manufacturers, sellers, buyers, customers, trade associations, users or regulators (BSI 2014).

Industry News / Industry Magazines online - access some content for free

Event

Access via BU's subscription to this industry magazine (2002 to 2017)

Event Industry News

Leisure Media

This Company publishes a wide range of leisure industry magazines.

Facilities Management Journal FMJ - latest facilities management news, comment and in-depth analysis for facilities managers.
Free access to back issues since 2013 and news.

Exhibition World

Latest edition of Exhibition World industry magazine published by UFI, freely available on website for non-UFI members
About UFI The Global Association of the Exhibition Industry
UFI News and media - some content freely available for non-UFI members

Conference and Incentive Travel

Conference News

Individuals can freely subscribe to access this industry magazine

Festival Insights - an online source focused on the international festival industry

UK Music

Brand Republic

Access is free, registration may be required. Full text of the latest issues may be restricted.

Stand Out

Stand Out - access to e-magazine is free 2012 to present

Others

Subject Guide

Bournemouth University Business School Library Team

Email Me

UK Government Departments and Reports

UK Government Department for Culture, Media & Sport

UK Government services and information

UK Government websites

GOV.UK
UK Government services, departments and information (e.g. Events Industry Board (EIB), Tourism Industry Council, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport)
Census Datasets
* Subject coverage: datasets from the UK Census
* Type of content: census data, statistics, longitudinal studies, geographical boundary data in GIS formats
* Date range: 1971 to present
more...less...
Level of access: first time users must complete the one off registration process. BU staff/student login required for off-campus access (OALA). You will be prompted to complete a one off registration process to access full resource.
National Digital Archives Datasets
* Subject coverage: UK government data and statistics
* Type of content: online access to archived digital datasets and documents from UK central government departments.
* Level of access: the datasets are delivered as zip files, there are different file types: a .pdf file, multiple .csv files and multiple .html files
UK Government Web Archive
* Subject coverage: Archive of UK Government webpages
* Size/scope: Past and present UK Government departments
* Type of content: Government webpages
* Level of access: Full text available.
UK Official Publications on the Internet
* Subject coverage: UK Government publications
* Size/scope: Stationary Office publications with links to HMSO and Parliament websites
* Type of content: Government reports and publications
* Level of access: Full text available.

Professional Associations and Organisations

Important note: BU Library does not subscribe to these professional association/organisation websites.
These websites are recommended because you may have limited access to some free material on these websites, but you will not be able to login without personal subscription details.
You may also consider joining an association/s as part of your professional and career development.
USEFUL GUIDE: Eventbrite's Guide To The Key Event Industry Associations In The UK & Ireland

Attractions Management Handbook

Attractions Management Handbook

Attractions Management Handbook

Download PDF versions of this Handbook since 2011, produced by The Leisure Media Company.

ISO 20121 International Standard for an Event Sustainability Management System

Access British Standards Online

ISO 20121 Event Sustainability Management System

Access the British Standards Publication 'BS ISO 20121:2012 Event sustainability management systems: Requirements with guidance for use' via British Standards Online. Just enter British Standards Online in the list of resources linked here, then search for 'ISO20121' to find the full document.

ISO 20121

Events: Websites & Industry News

Critical thinking skills: How to spot fake news