Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NHS Open Athens account
Students, staff and researchers studying on or supporting NHS-related courses are entitled to a free NHS Open Athens account. This account will provide access to resources subscribed to by the NHS in addition to those provided by BU.
Students from the following courses will receive an NHS Open Athens account automatically:
- BSc (Hons) Adult Nursing
- PGDip Adult Nursing (with professional registration)
- BSc (Hons) Children & Young People's Nursing
- BSc (Hons) Mental Health Nursing
- PGDip Mental Health Nursing (with professional registration)
- BSc (Hons) Midwifery
- BSc (Hons) Occupational Therapy
- BSc (Hons) Physiotherapy
- DipHE Operating Department Practice
- BSc (Hons) Paramedic Science
- PG Dip / MSc Physician Associate Studies
Students, staff or researchers studying on or supporting other courses please contact HSSlibteam@bournemouth.ac.uk to enquire about this service.
Students studying on CPD courses at BU whilst working at an NHS Trust should contact their NHS Trust library for an account, which will provide access to additional resources.
Accessing NHS Databases through Nice Evidence Services
NHS Open Athens account contact details
If your activation code has expired or you have forgotten your username or password please contact HSSlibteam@bournemouth.ac.uk
If you have created an NHS Athens account via your hospital library you should direct all Athens-related queries to that hospital library. Hospital librarians will be pleased to assist with any queries you have regarding the NHS resources available.
Databases included under the NHS Open Athens account
The following additional databases are only available through Nice Evidence using your NHS Open Athens account :
Available by logging into Healthcare Databases Advanced Search (HDAS)
- AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine
- HMIC - Health Management Information Consortium
- EMBASE - Excerpta Medica Database
- Ovid EMCARE
Available via the Health Research Premium Collection:
- Hospital Premium Collection: Consumer Health Database, Health and Medical Collection, Healthcare Administration Database, Nursing and Allied Health Database, Psychology Database
- Transfusion Evidence Library
- BMJ Best Practice
For information about accessing e-LfH NHS modules, follow this link.
NHS and Bournemouth University Databases