Skip to Main Content
What does case law and legislation mean?
- What is case law? Explained by Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales (ICLR).
- What is legislation? Explanations on the UK Parliament website:
Community Care Inform Children database
- Focuses on professional practice information about children, not adults.
- You must enter Community Care Inform Children database via BU Library's subscribed link on the Library's Social Work databases page (don't just Google it, that won't work for this).
- Subject coverage: an online information source for professionals working with children and families. Includes information on key topics including: abuse; adoption and fostering; looked after children; substance abuse and youth justice.
- Type of content: case law; legislation, podcasts, practice guides, and research reviews specially commissioned from key social care practitioners.
Finding Legal Information - Social Work
- To find case law - search the BU Library's law databases called Westlaw (Lexis+ is another you may try searching). Access these via the Library's list of Social Work databases
- To find legislation (Bills, Acts, and Statutory Instruments) - search the UK Parliament website and BU Library database called Westlaw.
- To find journal articles and commentary about law and legislation - search for journal articles, books, and newspaper articles:
- Use EBSCO databases for journal articles (Westlaw and Lexis+ databases also provide access to legal journal articles).
- Use your unit reading lists BU Library's mysearch for books.
- Use EBSCO databases for newspaper articles - these may appear in results when the 'peer-review' filter option is not selected.
