Skip to main content

Theses and Dissertations: Overseas PhD Theses

Ebsco Open Dissertations

A free database with records for more than 800,000 electronic theses and dissertations from around the world

You can access this resource via our guide to finding theses and dissertations.

European databases

DART-Europe E-theses Portal

DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. The portal allows access to 130,000+ full text research theses from 233 Universities sourced from 16 European countries.

Other European Databases:

Obtaining Theses

If a thesis is not available full text online then it may be possible to obtain via the Inter-Library Loan service

Other Sources

Networked Digital Library of Thesis and Dissertations This database provides fast and convenient access to the dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.

WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This database provides fast and convenient access to the dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 100 million documents from more than 5,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

OpenThesis is an American-run free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents.

Ebsco Open Dissertations