LibGuides: Retail: Websites & Industry News

Critical thinking skills: How to spot fake news

IFLA, 2017. How to spot fake news [online]. Netherlands: The International Federation of Library Associations. Available from: https://repository.ifla.org/handle/123456789/167 [Accessed 08/09/2021].

Fact or Fake? BBC Bitesize resources

Evaluating information skills

It's very important to consider the quality and integrity of websites you find when using Internet search engines like Google.
Evaluating Information Study Skills Guide
Useful guide from UCL, 2021. LibrarySkills@UCL: Evaluating information [online]. London: University College London Library. Available from: https://library-guides.ucl.ac.uk/evaluating/assignments [Accessed 08 December 2021].

How do I search for an article in a specific journal or trade magazine? How do I check which journal titles and trade magazines BU subscribes to?

Answer: enter title of journal or magazine into mySearch journal title search

Professional Associations and Organisations

Important note: BU Library does not subscribe to these professional association/organisation websites.
These websites are recommended because you may have limited access to some free material, but you will not be able to login without personal subscription details.
You may also consider joining an association(s) as part of your professional and career development.

UK Government websites

GOV.UK
UK Government services, departments and information (e.g. Events Industry Board (EIB), Tourism Industry Council, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport)
Census Datasets
* Subject coverage: datasets from the UK Census
* Type of content: census data, statistics, longitudinal studies, geographical boundary data in GIS formats
* Date range: 1971 to present
more...less...
Level of access: first time users must complete the one off registration process. BU staff/student login required for off-campus access (OALA). You will be prompted to complete a one off registration process to access full resource.
National Digital Archives Datasets
* Subject coverage: UK government data and statistics
* Type of content: online access to archived digital datasets and documents from UK central government departments.
* Level of access: the datasets are delivered as zip files, there are different file types: a .pdf file, multiple .csv files and multiple .html files
UK Government Web Archive
* Subject coverage: Archive of UK Government webpages
* Size/scope: Past and present UK Government departments
* Type of content: Government webpages
* Level of access: Full text available.
UK Official Publications on the Internet
* Subject coverage: UK Government publications
* Size/scope: Stationary Office publications with links to HMSO and Parliament websites
* Type of content: Government reports and publications
* Level of access: Full text available.

UK Government Business Innovation & Skills (BIS) Retail Sector Team

www.gov.uk/government/groups/bis-retail-sector-team

BBC News: Business (RSS Feed)

Subject Guide

Bournemouth University Business School Library Team

Email Me

British Retail Consortium News (RSS Feed)

British Retail Consortium (BRC)
Important note: BU Library does not subscribe to this trade news provider. You will have limited access to free material on website and you may choose to receive latest news updates.

Blog: Econsultancy Digital Marketing

Important note: BU Library does not subscribe to this trade news provider. You will have limited access to free material on website and you may choose to receive latest news updates. Access the blog.

Internet Retailing

Retail Bulletin News (RSS Feed)

The Retail Bulletin

Important note: BU Library does not subscribe to this trade news provider. You will have limited access to free material on website and you may choose to receive latest news updates.

The Retail Bulletin

Retail Gazette

Retail Insight Network - Verdict Retail

Important note: BU Library does not subscribe to this trade news provider. You will have limited access to free material on website and you may choose to receive latest news updates.

Retail Insight Network - Verdict Retail

Retail Week

Access Retail Week

Important note: BU Library subscribes to this industry magazine and a one off registration required. You must register using a PC on campus at BU and your BU email address.

Which? consumer e-magazine

Which

Consumer magazine online with news, reviews and recommendations on various products, plus, reports about various industries including technology, travel, environment, finance, motor trade and hospitality.
Access via link on this Library webpage, not via which.co.uk website directly. You need to use BU's subscription login details from the document found on the Library area in Brightspace

Retail: Websites & Industry News

mySearch