LibGuides: Creative Technology: Specialist resources

Key databases

Academic Search Ultimate: Science, social science, education, psychology, language and linguistics, arts and literature
ACM Digital Library: Computer Science. Includes full text of SIGGRAPH conference proceedings
Art and Architecture Complete: Art, architecture and design
IEEE Explore: Science, technology and electronics
International Film Archive (FIAF): Film and television

All of these databases can be accessed either via the Alphabetical list of databases webpage or via the Resources by subject webpage.

Useful websites

Animation World
Comprehensive website including news, careers, blogs, forums, industry information
and show reels.
British Universities Film and Video Council
Moving image gateway. Includes information on broadcasts from around 300 UK television and radio stations, included are terrestrial, cable and satellite television (and regional variations) from 1995.
Shots
Collection of animation and VFX from commercials, music videos and other media. Includes industry news, company and people directories.
Stash
Online video library of animation and VFX. Includes, commercials, virals, music videos, game cinematics, short films. Also contains behind-the-scenes information and
tutorials.

Multimedia

The Library has an extensive multimedia collection. This includes:

Feature Films: Shelf mark 791.4372

Television Series: Shelf mark 791.4572

SIGGRAPH Video Reviews: Shelf mark 006.6 SIG

Gnomon Workshop DVDs: Shelf mark 006.696

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Use dictionaries and encyclopedias to:

Get an overview of your topic or issue
Learn the definitions of terms and concepts
Identify keywords to use in searching for additional information

Look on mySearch for relevant titles e.g. The Encyclopedia of Movie Special Effects (Shelf mark: 778.534503 NET).

Online dictionaries and encyclopedias

Credo Reference - Online reference books including encyclopaedias, dictionaries and thesauri in a wide range of subject areas.

BoB: Box of Broadcasts

BoB: Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education

To access click the ‘sign in’ button on the home screen, enter Bournemouth University in the "Where are you from?" box, click "Go" and login using your normal BU username and password.

Subject coverage: access TV and radio programmes from over 65 'free-to-air' channels using a programme guide and a search option. Option to schedule recordings up to seven days in advance and request programmes broadcast over the previous 30 days. Search BoB to access other users' recorded programmes. Permanent archive of all broadcast content from nine channels: BBC1 London / BBC2 / BBC4 / ITV London / Channel 4 / More4 / Channel 5 / BBC Radio 4 / BBC Radio 4 Extra. Content plays in your web browser with access available both on and off campus.
Type of content: TV and radio programmes
Date range: 2007 to present
Level of access: BU staff/student login required; registration required on first use. Available off-campus, but not outside the UK.