Skip to main content

Taxation: Books

Print books and e-books

Search the Library Catalogue for records of books on shelves and links to download e-books online. Search results show the location of books that are organised on shelves by subject category.

To find a specific book, you need to get details of the full shelf mark including letters after the numbers; shelf marks (e.g. 371.30281 COT) are visible on the book spines. 

Shelfmarks explained

When you search the Library catalogue for the item that you want, the book record will display a shelfmark that tells you where the item is shelved.

The shelfmark will look like this:

658.74 LAN

The shelfmark is based on the Dewey Decimal Classification scheme and is displayed on the spine of the book. The numbers denote the subject of the book and the letters are the first three letters of the author's surname. The Library catalogue will also tell you what floor the item is located on.  

Off campus access

Use your University login details to access databases and full text sources that BU subscribes to when you are off campus.

Library Catalogue search

Use this to find print and e-books in the BU Libraries

E-book collections

The majority of our e-books can be accessed via the Library catalogue, but they can also be accessed via our e-books collection. 

There are additional benefits of using the e-book collections. 

Full text searching 

Search within the text of all the e-books held in a particular collection for a subject or keyword. This is an efficient way to find relevant information on a particular topic. If you wish to keyword search across every page of all e-books in a particular collection, we recommend the following database:

For help with searching the e-book collections watch the following video

 

Book carousel

A few books recently added to Library stock

Subject Guide

Bournemouth University Business School Library Team's picture
Bournemouth University Business School Library Team

Can't find the book you need?

  • Is the book out on loan? - place a reservation
  • Is the book at another library site? - go to the Help Zone
  • Have you checked the reshelving trolleys?
  • If in doubt consult a member of Library Staff

Downloading e-books onto tablets and devices

Some of our e-books can be downloaded onto tablets and e-readers in certain circumstances. For more information check our LibGuide: