mySearch is an interface which allows you to search across a range of library resources simultaneously, including books, journal articles and databases.
Journals are a key sources of knowledge for many academic disciplines. They can contain:
Many journals are peer-reviewed, which means each article has been assessed for quality by independent experts in those fields before publication.
Search for journal articles using any of these key databases. Guidance is available via the Academic Skills Hub on how to put an effective search together.
| mySearch |
Searches several databases simultaneously for library resources, including books and journal articles. Use specialist databases like EBSCO, Scopus or Web of Science for more advanced searches. |
| EBSCO Databases Search | BU subscribes to several databases from EBSCO. This searches them all simultaneously. They can also be searched individually. |
| Scopus | A bibliographic database which indexes a very large number of journals. It's citation tracking feature is very helpful for identifying related articles based on citations. |
| Web of Science | A bibliographic database which indexes a very large number of journals. It's citation tracking feature is very helpful for identifying related articles based on citations. |
| Project Muse | Articles from journals in the humanities from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. |
| Google Scholar | A popular tool used for finding academic sources on the internet. It has advantages and disadvantages and it can be considered an 'additional' tool to use in conjunction with BU Library search tools. See our guide in the Academic Skills Hub. |
Browsing specialist journals dedicated to publishing research from specific disciples can be a helpful approach to keeping up-to-date with the latest findings.
Aesthetica
Aperture
British Journal of Photography
History of Photography
Photographies
Photography and Culture
Source: The Photographic Review
Visual Communication