Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspaper Resource Collections
We recommend these two resource collections that provide access to a range of UK broadsheets, tabloids and regional newspapers, plus some international newspapers.
Find articles across a number of national and international newspapers all in one search!
Access Gale Reference Complete (a replacement for Factiva from March 2020)
- Subject coverage: multidisciplinary with collections focused on journalism, history and English literature
- Size/Scope: over 28,000 journals, 1,700 e-book editions, 13 million pages of historical primary sources and 1.5 million items of literature criticism and full-text literary works
- Type of content: major daily and regional newspapers (Gale OneFile News), multidisciplinary journals (Gale Academic OneFile), reference works (Gale eBooks) and primary historical (Archives Unbound) and literary (Gale Literary Sources) archives
- Date range: archival sources from 13th century onwards
- Level of access: mixture of abstract and full-text access.
Access Press Reader
- Subject coverage: newspapers
- Size/scope: over 2,000 UK and international newspapers
- Type of content: all major daily and business newspapers, also general business and industry publications
- Type of content: exact copy of the printed version
- Date range: last 90 days (The Guardian last 14 days only)
- Level of access: full text
Financial Times Online (FT.com)
BU users must complete one off registration to access FT.com content for free:
- Important note: for continued access whilst you are BU student or staff you are required to log in to FT.com once every 90 days
- If you have not already done so, you need to complete a one off registration to access BU’s FT.com package. Enter via the link provided by BU Library and you are taken to the FT.com registration page for BU users.
- Once you have registered, you can sign in and access via the FT.com website. Direct links to areas relevant for some FM courses available below.
Hints & Tips
A range of videos on how to use FT.com and all of the extra features can be found on YouTube.
- Advanced Search - Use the search bar along the top of the screen to make detailed and specific searches for content dating back to August 2004.
- Email Alerts - Sign up for company, industry or keyword alerts
- ePaper - View an exact replica of all editions of the FT newspaper, complete with turning pages
- FT Clippings - Create a clippings list to save, store and share FT article links and web pages with colleagues, students and friends
- FT Mobile - Access FT content on your mobile and tablet device
- Special Reports - Get 20 reports each month on the issues and events impacting different countries and industries
- Breaking stories - Insight and data from the global financial markets
- Management - Insight into management ideas, practice and education plus how companies should respond to topical issues
- Case studies - Written by academics, not journalists, in an easy to follow format
- The Big Read - Read in-depth reporting from FT correspondents around the world on stories that explore and explain key themes in the world news, science, business and discussions with FT reporters
- Comment & Analysis - A team of acclaimed columnists provide thought provoking and sophisticated analysis of current events