LibGuides: Hospitality: Websites & Industry News

How do I search for an article in a specific journal or trade magazine? How do I check which journal titles and trade magazines BU subscribes to?

Answer: enter title of journal or magazine into mySearch journal title search

Professional Associations and Organisations

Important note: BU Library does not subscribe to these professional association/organisation websites.
These websites are recommended because you may have limited access to some free material, but you will not be able to login without personal subscription details.
You may also consider joining an association(s) as part of your professional and career development.

UK Hospitality https://www.ukhospitality.org.uk/
Food Standards Agency http://www.food.gov.uk
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations http://www.fao.org
Health and Safety Executive (HSE) https://www.hse.gov.uk/index.htm
World Health Organization http://www.who.int

Institute of Hospitality
The Bournemouth University Business School subscribes to education membership of this Association for Students studying Tourism and Hospitality courses (this is not managed by BU Library). Contact your Unit Lecturer, Programme Leader or your Level Tutor for more details about how to get your free access to educational materials, e-books and reports.
Association for Nutrition
British Institute of Inn Keeping
Chartered Institute of Marketing (CIM)
Chilled Food Association (CFA)
Council for Hospitality Management Education (CHME)
Euro CHRIE The Hospitality & Tourism Educators
Institute of Travel and Tourism (ITT)
Night Time Industries Association (NTIA)

Food and Catering Industry Health and Safety Resources

Health and Safety Executive's Guidance: Catering and Hospitality
HSE is a UK Government organization.
Health and Safety Executive's Guidance on Food and Drink Manufacture
HSE is a UK Government organization.
British Standards Online
Access full text British Standards (BS); British adopted European Standards (BS EN) and British adopted International Standards (BS ISO).
For example, find British Standards on food safety, catering kitchens, food microbiology.

What is a Standard?
A standard is an agreed way of doing something. It could be about making a product, managing a process, delivering a service or supplying materials . Standards can cover a huge range of activities undertaken by organizations and used by their customers. Standards are the distilled wisdom of people with expertise in their subject matter and who know the needs of the organizations they represent – people such as manufacturers, sellers, buyers, customers, trade associations, users or regulators (BSI 2014).
Barbour Environment, Health and Safety
Access some full text documentation on legislation, regulations and standards, including HSE, Environment Agency and BSI, plus case law and prosecutions from key sources.

FMJ: Facilities Management Journal

Facilities Management Journal

FMJ - latest facilities management news, comment and in-depth analysis for facilities managers.
Free access to back issues since 2013 and news.

FoodSMART News

https://microsites.bournemouth.ac.uk/foodsmart/category/news

Project website of FoodSMART led by BU Professor Heather Hartwell. Website provides relevant information and latest news from this 4 year EU-funded research partnership (ran from Jan' 2015 to Jan' 2019). The main goal of FoodSMART aims to provide a flexible, customisable and accessible mobile interface and improved menu design that delivers a personalised dietary recommendation across public sector settings.

Food Technology Magazine

Important note: BU Library does not subscribe to this trade news provider. You will have limited access to free material on website.

Food Technology Magazine
Access some content from current and previous issues of this trade magazine for free via website. News articles available for free.

Frozen and Chilled Foods

Important note: BU Library does not subscribe to this trade news provider. You will have limited access to free material on website.

Frozen and Chilled Foods
The Magazine for Buyers in the Frozen and Chilled Foods Industry. Access current issue of this trade magazine for free via website.

Hotel News Now

Hotel News Now

Important note: BU Library does not subscribe to this trade news provider. You will have limited access to free material on website and you may choose to receive latest news updates.

HQ (Hospitality Quarterly - Institute of Hospitality's magazine)

BU Library provides access to magazine in print (not online)
Current 5 years worth held on BU Library shelves (Talbot Campus).

Hotel Yearbook

The Hotel Yearbook includes views from a wide-ranging group of senior executives, analysts, consultants and opinion leaders from all over the world about "What lies ahead for the global hotel industry?"

Download free editions from Hotel Yearbook website here

The Caterer News

The Caterer

Important note: BU Library does not subscribe to this trade news provider. You will have limited access to free material on website and you may choose to receive latest news updates.

Restaurant magazine

Subject Guide

Bournemouth University Business School Library Team

Email Me

UK Government: Department of Health

UK Government Department of Health

UK Government websites

GOV.UK
UK Government services, departments and information (e.g. Events Industry Board (EIB), Tourism Industry Council, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport)
Census Datasets
* Subject coverage: datasets from the UK Census
* Type of content: census data, statistics, longitudinal studies, geographical boundary data in GIS formats
* Date range: 1971 to present
more...less...
Level of access: first time users must complete the one off registration process. BU staff/student login required for off-campus access (OALA). You will be prompted to complete a one off registration process to access full resource.
National Digital Archives Datasets
* Subject coverage: UK government data and statistics
* Type of content: online access to archived digital datasets and documents from UK central government departments.
* Level of access: the datasets are delivered as zip files, there are different file types: a .pdf file, multiple .csv files and multiple .html files
UK Government Web Archive
* Subject coverage: Archive of UK Government webpages
* Size/scope: Past and present UK Government departments
* Type of content: Government webpages
* Level of access: Full text available.
UK Official Publications on the Internet
* Subject coverage: UK Government publications
* Size/scope: Stationary Office publications with links to HMSO and Parliament websites
* Type of content: Government reports and publications
* Level of access: Full text available.

Hospitality: Websites & Industry News

Critical thinking skills: How to spot fake news