Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Maps and Aerial/Satellite Imagery - Researchers' Guide: Digimap

What Digimap provides

What is Digimap?

Digimap is a collection of EDINA services that deliver maps and map data of Great Britain. Data is available either to download to use with appropriate software such as GIS or CAD, or as maps generated by Digimap online.

How do I access Digimap?

Use the Subject Resources for Maps or A-Z of databases. You need to register before you can use it - this can take 48 hours, so ensure that you register in good time. Once registered use your BU login.

What are the main Digimap collections?

Digimap - Ordnance Survey® Collection contains maps at scales ranging from 1:1,250 up to 1:750,000 available for making maps online or for download. There are scanned raster maps which are digital versions of Ordnance Survey's paper maps as well as vector maps at a range of scales including OS MasterMap® the most detailed large scale mapping.

Geology Digimap  contains map data at scales ranging from 1:625,000 to 1:50,000 available for making maps online or for download. Maps can be customised by selecting which layers to show and varying the transparency.

Historic Digimap are digital scans of OS paper map sheets including:

  • all available County Series maps at 1:2,500 and 1:10,560 scales published between 1843 and 1939;
  • all available Town Plans at 1:500, 1:528 and 1:1,056 scales published from 1848 and 1939;
  • all available National Grid maps at 1:1,250, 1:2,500 and 1:10,560/10,000 scales published from 1945 and before the introduction of the Ordnance Survey's digital Land-Line product

Marine Digima contains scanned and georeferenced marine maps at scales ranging from 1:3,500,000 to 1:2,500 available for making maps online or for download. There is also vector data containing a huge range of themes covering all aspects of marine spatial information.

Environment Digimap - these digital raster datasets, derived from satellite data collected by the Landsat 5 Thematic Mapper, provide classification of land cover types at a 25m resolution for the years of 1990, 2000 and 2007.  Classifications include sea and inland waters, bare, suburban and urban areas, arable farmland, pastures and meadows, rough grass, grass heaths and moors, bracken, dwarf shrub heaths and moorland, scrub, deciduous and evergreen woodland and upland and lowland bogs.

Digimap ROAM (OS collection)

Historical Maps

Digimap Twitter feed