LibGuides: Tourism: Websites & Industry News

How do I search for an article in a specific journal or trade magazine? How do I check which journal titles and trade magazines BU subscribes to?

Answer: enter title of journal or magazine into mySearch journal title search

Professional Associations and Organisations

Important note: BU Library does not subscribe to these professional association/organisation websites.
These websites are recommended because you may have limited access to some free material, but you will not be able to login without personal subscription details.
You may also consider joining an association(s) as part of your professional and career development.

Institute of Travel and Tourism (ITT)
International Federation for Information Technologies in Travel & Tourism (IFITT)
PATA - Pacific Asia Travel Association
Recommended by BU's Professor Dimitrios Buhalis
Tourism Management Institute (TMI)
The Tourism Society
World Travel & Tourism Council

UK Government websites

GOV.UK
UK Government services, departments and information (e.g. Events Industry Board (EIB), Tourism Industry Council, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport)
Census Datasets
* Subject coverage: datasets from the UK Census
* Type of content: census data, statistics, longitudinal studies, geographical boundary data in GIS formats
* Date range: 1971 to present
more...less...
Level of access: first time users must complete the one off registration process. BU staff/student login required for off-campus access (OALA). You will be prompted to complete a one off registration process to access full resource.
National Digital Archives Datasets
* Subject coverage: UK government data and statistics
* Type of content: online access to archived digital datasets and documents from UK central government departments.
* Level of access: the datasets are delivered as zip files, there are different file types: a .pdf file, multiple .csv files and multiple .html files
UK Government Web Archive
* Subject coverage: Archive of UK Government webpages
* Size/scope: Past and present UK Government departments
* Type of content: Government webpages
* Level of access: Full text available.
UK Official Publications on the Internet
* Subject coverage: UK Government publications
* Size/scope: Stationary Office publications with links to HMSO and Parliament websites
* Type of content: Government reports and publications
* Level of access: Full text available.

UK Government Department for Transport

UK Government Department for Transport

Civil Aviation Authority (CAA)

The UK's specialist aviation regulator. Their website contains facts and stats about a wide range of aviation related areas:

CAA news

Coastal Communities Alliance

Coastal Communities Alliance
The National Coastal Communities Alliance is a partnership of coastal Local Authorities, coastal organisations and individuals with an interest in coastal matters.

National Coastal Tourism Academy

National Coastal Tourism Academy

PATA - Pacific Asia Travel Association

Free PATA publications to download online

About PATA
PATA is recommended by BU's Professor Dimitrios Buhalis.

Seatime Maritime News

Important note: BU Library does not subscribe to this trade news provider. You will have limited access to free material on website and you may register for free to receive latest news updates.

Skift

About Skift