Open Access and Depositing your Research: Depositing your research

BRIAN (Bournemouth Research Information And Networking) is BU’s publication management system.

• Staff can manage their research outputs on BRIAN, as well as other information such as biography, academic group, memberships, website and social media links, plus many more options.
• Information input to BRIAN will be displayed in the BU staff profile web pages.
• BRIAN is a single point of data entry which will allow research information to be used in multiple places.
• It will also enable BU to meet Research Excellence Framework (REF) requirements by improving administrative efficiency and data accuracy.
• All academic staff automatically have a login and you can access it with your normal university username and password (you don’t need to add staff\ in front of your username).
• Help and guidance can be found on the system and via the documents  at the bottom of the page here. If you have any problems accessing the system or you have any queries please contact the BRIAN team.

Bournemouth University Research Online [BURO] is the University's Institutional Repository. BURO is supported by Eprints software.

• It gives access to academic outputs created by Bournemouth University staff and researchers.

• Where available, BURO contains open access full text of unpublished works, the author's version of published works (post-prints or AAMs) and paid for open access works.
• BURO is located at http://eprints.bournemouth.ac.uk/ - it has a well-designed interface and is easy to use.
• BURO is open to anyone to search, however, only Bournemouth University staff and researchers can contribute material.
• Material is contributed to BURO via BRIAN.
• BURO contains records of outputs with full-text attached – a full list of outputs can be viewed in the BU staff profile web pages http://staffprofiles.bournemouth.ac.uk/.
• If you require help assessing whether an open access version of your work can be contributed to BURO please contact your Faculty Library Team or the BURO team.

Uploading your full text to BRIAN – 3 easy steps!

If you are unsure of how to upload the full text of your publication onto BRIAN to be deposited in BURO, these are the three easy steps you can follow!

Step 1 – Ensure publication record already exists in your BRIAN account. If it does not, click on the ‘+’ on the My publications tab.

Choose your research output type, enter the title and search - do not skip.

If the record of your publication already exists within BRIAN, you simply need to scroll to it and ‘claim’ it.

Otherwise, scroll to the bottom of the page and click on ‘Go to next step". Tick the author box to populate the field with your name. You can then populate, as a minimum, all the required * fields. Don’t forget to scroll to the bottom to ‘save’ your record!

Step 2 – Once the publication record exists within BRIAN, you will be taken to the deposit page automatically. If doing it at a later date, look for the Deposit button on the output itself

Step 3 – Locate the correct version of your full text in accordance with the policy advice from Sherpa Romeo; and then click ‘upload’. Remember this is a two part process so you must complete deposit.

When the upload is complete, you will be notified on the screen that your full text has been deposited (in BURO review).

Once the BURO team has checked for copyright compliance and published  the output, the link to the full text in BURO will be created and the link will also appear on your Staff Profile Page. If at any point you are unsure of this process, please send an email either to BRIAN@bournemouth.ac.uk or BURO@bournemouth.ac.uk for assistance and advice.