Skip to Main Content

Journalism and Communication: Home

Introduction


The library has access to a huge collection of books, journals and online databases for use in assignments, research projects and dissertations. This guide is an overview of all that's available to you!

Need help using any of these resources? Get in touch with the FMC Library Team or book an appointment!

Overview of resources

Books

  • Books are a fantastic source of reliable information and research
  • Reading lists, accessible from every unit in Brightspace, are a great place to start
  • Find books from BU's vast print and e-book collections using mySearch
  • Most of our book collection is electronic, available anytime and anywhere!
  • Library guide for Communication and Journalism > Books

Journals

Newspapers and magazines

  • Nexus Uni is BU's main newspaper database with UK and global coverage
  • PressReader hosts thousands of current newspapers and magazines in full-facsimile
  • Full access to The Guardian and Financial Times
  • Archival access to The Times and The Independent
  • Library Guide for Newspapers and Magazines
  • Access library databases from the Communication and Journalism subject resource list

Radio, Film and TV

Market research

  • The library subscribes to some fantastic resources for market research
  • TGI Snapshot, Mintel, Adwanted Connected  and Passport are key databases for consumer data, market reports, industry data and insights.
  • Library guide for Communication and Journalism > Market research
  • Access library databases from the Communication and Journalism subject resource list

Industry insight

  • Broadcast is a key source of news and information for the British TV industry.
  • Includes Broadcast Sport and Broadcast Tech.
  • 'The Media Leader' from Adwanted Connected for industry news and opinion
  • Library guide for Communication and Journalism > Industry Insight
  • Access library databases from the Communication and Journalism subject resource list