LibGuides: Reading & Writing: Literature Reviews

What is a Literature Review?

A literature review is a key component of your dissertation or thesis.
You may also be required to complete a literature review as part of an assignment.
The following guidance will explain what a literature review is and how to conduct a successful review.

Health Students

If you are doing a literature review for your final project in a health degree such as nursing, please refer to the library guidance from the Faculty of Health and Social Sciences Library Team

Starting a Literature Review

This guide from the Reading University takes you through the process of starting a literature review.

Writing up your literature review

Green Chameleon., 2015. green-chameleon-s9CC2SKySJM-unsplash.jpg [photograph]. Unsplash. Available from: https://unsplash.com/photos/s9CC2SKySJM

This guide from Victoria University will help you write up your literature review.

Proof reading and editing your work

Library & Learning Support does not offer a proof-reading or checking service and so is unable to make corrections to your work or carry out editing on your behalf.

You may be interested in the following online resources which include tips and advice on how to draft, edit and proof-read your own work -

Critical Thinking

Based on the work of expert Stella Cottrell, international bestselling author of The Study Skills Handbook, this interactive resource will help you hone and develop your study skills at your own pace. Each module has been carefully designed so you can assess your current proficiency, track your progress, become more confident and get the most out of your course.

Access this module and it contains these sections:

What is critical thinking?
Critical reading, listening, and note-making
Critical writing
Evaluating evidence
Critical reflection

Click on 'Continue with your Institution account'.

CRAAP Test for evaluating sources

New in 2022 UK Government 'Take care with what you share' online campaign:

Download 'Take care with what you share' online checklist here

"The internet and social media are full of facts and opinions. Most are balanced and informative but others can be misleading or even harmful to share with our friends and families. Worse still, false information can often be about important things that impact whole communities, like health or the environment." (HM Government 2022).

The CRAAP test was developed by Meriam Library at California State University:

Currency - The timeliness of the information.
Relevance - The importance of the information for your needs.
Authority - The source of the information.
Accuracy - The reliability, truthfulness and correctness of the content.
Purpose - The reason the information exists.

Useful books

Doing Your Research Project [E-book] by Judith Bell; Stephen Waters
ISBN: 9780335264476
Publication Date: 2014
This is the market leading book for anyone doing their research project. Clear, concise and extremely readable, this book provides a practical, step-by-step guide to doing a research project from start to finish. Thoroughly updated but retaining its well-loved style, this 6th edition includes: information on using online surveys; information on online interviewing and using online platforms for observation, e.g. Skype, Google Hangouts; new chapter on the use of social media in small scale research; thoroughly updated chapter on literature searching; revised and additional pedagogy; and a brand new text design. This practical, no-nonsense guide is vital reading for all those embarking on undergraduate or postgraduate study in any discipline, and for professionals in such fields as social science, education and health.
Succeeding with Your Literature Review: a Handbook for Students [E-book] by Paul Oliver
ISBN: 9780335243686
Publication Date: 2012
This step-by-step handbook provides comprehensive and practical guidance on the process of researching a range of relevant literature on a subject, as well as planning and writing a literature review. The book takes a student friendly approach to offer complete novices a simple review of a process which is often central to producing a research study. Succeeding with your Literature Review will enable you to: Design a literature review which is related to the main facets of a research project Conduct a logically-planned search for relevant literature Determine which literature is most suited to inclusion in your study Analyse the literature, drawing comparisons and connections where appropriate Appraise the strengths and weaknesses of relevant literature Write logically and rationally about the key features of literature Write a literature review in a sound academic style Understand how to relate a literature review to other elements of your study or dissertation Written by an author with extensive experience of supervising and examining undergraduate, Masters and doctoral dissertations, this book covers the latest trends, such as: RSS feeds, wikis, grey literature, blogs and forms of open access publishing. The book also includes examples of common pitfalls, good practice, key terms and questions to reinforce student learning and reflection. Succeeding with your Literature Review is relevant in all subject areas and is essential reading for third year undergraduate and postgraduate students.
Doing Your Literature Review [Print book] by Jill Jesson; Lydia Matheson; Fiona M. Lacey
ISBN: 9781848601543
Publication Date: 2011
The literature review is a compulsory part of research and, increasingly, may form the whole of a student research project. This highly accessible book guides students through the production of either a traditional or a systematic literature review, clearly explaining the difference between the two types of review, the advantages and disadvantages of both, and the skills needed. It gives practical advice on reading and organising relevant literature and critically assessing the reviewed field.
The Literature Review [Print book] by Diana Ridley
ISBN: 9781446201435
Publication Date: 2012
This second edition of Diana Ridley's bestselling book provides a step-by-step guide to conducting a literature search and literature review, using cases and examples throughout to demonstrate best practice. Ridley outlines practical strategies for conducting a systematic search of the available literature, reading and note taking and writing up your literature review as part of an undergraduate research project, Masters dissertation or PhD thesis.