Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evaluating information skills
Evaluating information skills: How to spot fake news
Professional Associations & Organisations
- Important note: BU Library does not subscribe to these professional association/organisation websites.
- These websites are recommended because you may have limited access to some free material, but you will not be able to login without personal subscription details.
- You may also consider joining an association(s) as part of your professional and career development.
Source recommendations for sports students studying golf
The Golf Business
Trade magazine, previously titled Golf Club Management (changed April 2017). BU Library holds in print on shelves (go to URL https://capitadiscovery.co.uk/bournemouth-ac/items/339364)
Golf Course Management
Trade magazine. BU Library holds in print on shelves (go to URL https://capitadiscovery.co.uk/bournemouth-ac/items/320942)
Free trade magazine online
Trade magazine. BU Library holds in print on shelves (go to URL https://capitadiscovery.co.uk/bournemouth-ac/items/328572)
World Scientific Congress of Golf (WSCG)
* The mission of the WSCG is to bring together researchers, professionals, and interested golfers in the areas of The Golfer, The Golf Course, and Equipment and Technology.
* BU Library holds print copies of some of the conference proceedings (go to URL https://capitadiscovery.co.uk/bournemouth-ac/items?query=world+congress+of+golf)
How do I search for an article in a specific journal or trade magazine? How do I check which journal titles and trade magazines BU subscribes to?
Sources of information about sport in the UK
Founded in 1997 UK Sport invests in Great Britain’s Olympic and Paralympic sports and athletes.
Committed to helping people and communities across England create sporting habits for life.
The UK's technical agency for coaching, established as the National Coaching Foundation, to promote sports coaching education.
Sports Insight Magazine and News
Important note: BU Library does not subscribe to this trade news provider. You will have limited access to free material on website and you may choose to receive latest news updates.
Free Sports Management Magazine and Handbook
Anatomy & Physiology Online
- Subject coverage: online, interactive human anatomy and physiology
- Type of content: 3D images, clinical examples, case studies, quizzes, multiple choice questions.
- Note: Access is limited to 25 simultaneous users
UK Government Department for Culture, Media & Sport
UK Government websites
UK Government services, departments and information (e.g. Events Industry Board (EIB), Tourism Industry Council, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport)
* Subject coverage: datasets from the UK Census
* Type of content: census data, statistics, longitudinal studies, geographical boundary data in GIS formats
* Date range: 1971 to present
National Digital Archives Datasets
* Subject coverage: UK government data and statistics
* Type of content: online access to archived digital datasets and documents from UK central government departments.
* Level of access: the datasets are delivered as zip files, there are different file types: a .pdf file, multiple .csv files and multiple .html files
UK Government Web Archive
* Subject coverage: Archive of UK Government webpages
* Size/scope: Past and present UK Government departments
* Type of content: Government webpages
* Level of access: Full text available.
UK Official Publications on the Internet
* Subject coverage: UK Government publications
* Size/scope: Stationary Office publications with links to HMSO and Parliament websites
* Type of content: Government reports and publications
* Level of access: Full text available.