EndNote desktop guide: Using EndNote with Word - Cite While you Write

Adding EndNote’s Cite While You Write (CWYW) toolbar to Word

Insert citation

Edit citation / reference

Placing two citations next to each other

Delete citation / reference

Moving text around in a document

Convert to unformatted

Update citations and bibliography

Formatting the bibliography

Convert to plain text

Preferences (to be developed)

Working with long documents (to be developed)

BU machines

The CWYW tool bar for EndNote will automatically be installed in Word when EndNote is installed on your machine.

Personal Macs

The CWYW tool bar for EndNote will automatically be installed in Word when EndNote is installed on your machine.

AppsAnywhere

When using EndNote via AppsAnywhere on a Windows 10 machine, the CWYW tool bar will be installed automatically in Word.

To insert a citation, make sure your EndNote library is open. In the CWYW toolbar, identify the Insert Citation button. You will notice it is split into two halves. To insert a citation,

• Place your cursor in the text of your Word document, where you want the citation
• Click the top half of the button
• Type in the name of the author of the reference you want to insert
• Click Find

You will get a list of possible references

• Select the one you wish to insert
• Click insert

The citation will be created in the text and the reference at the end of your document.

When using CWYW, you cannot edit the citations / bibliography manually in Word. Below are some ways you might want to edit a citation or update references in a bibliography and how you do it:

Citations

Exclude an author or year

• In the CWYW toolbar, select, Edit and Manage Citations
• In the list of citations, click once on the one you want to edit
• In the bottom half of the dialog box, use the drop down menu next to Formatting to select e.g. Exclude Author
• Click OK

Add page numbers, e.g. for a direct citation in BU Harvard

• In the CWYW toolbar, select, Edit and Manage Citations
• In the list of citations, click once on the one you want to edit
• In the bottom half of the dialog box, add number/s to the Pages field
• Click OK

Second hand citing

• In the CWYW toolbar, select, Edit and Manage Citations
• In the list of citations, click once on the one you want to edit
• In the bottom half of the dialog box, add e.g. Smith cited by , to the Prefix box

Contribution in an edited book

This applies to, for example, where a book has an overall editor, but the chapters are written by different people. In this case you will be referring to a particular chapter. Once you have brought in the reference details for the book, 

• Select Book Section for the Reference Type
• Fill in the following sections:
  • Author
  • Year
  • Title (this is the title for the chapter)
  • Editor
  • Book title
  • Place published
  • Publisher
  • Pages (in the format, e.g. 18-29  (these are the start and end pages of the chapter)) 

References in a bibliography

To edit a reference in a bibliography, you need to edit the data for that reference in your EndNote library and then update your Word document.

To insert a second citation directly next to the one before it, place the cursor directly next to the outside of the right bracket or the existing citation and then follow the normal insert citation process. 

To remove a citation / reference,

• In the CWYW toolbar, select, Edit and Manage Citations
• In the list of citations, click once on the one you want to edit
• Click on the little down arrow next to Edit Reference
• Select Remove reference

The citation will be removed. The corresponding reference will be removed or not (depending on referencing style)

If you want to move text around in a document that had citations included, please read the section Convert to unformatted

There are a number of reasons why you might unformat your document (which removes the formatted citations and bibliography from your work). Don't worry about doing this, as reinserting your citations / bibliography is a very quick process. Reasons include:

1. To move text around in your document
2. To clear out any potential anomalies that have occurred in your document
3. To enable a document to run more speedily

To unformat your document, go to the CWYW toolbar, select

• Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert to Unformatted Citations

You will see that in place of the citations you get squiggly brackets {...} with some text in between. The bibliography will have disappeared. You can now move text around in your document if you wish to. Remeber to maintain the integrity of the {...} and content within them as the CWYW toolbar will use this to re-code the document and recreate the correctly formatted citations and bibliography. You can work with the document in the unformatted style and insert more citation in the {...} style (using the normal insert citation process) if you want to work more speedily. You can simply ask the CWYW toolbar to update the document in one go at the end.

To update the citations / bibliography, see the next section Update citations and bibliography

To update the citations / bibliography in your document, from the CWYW toolbar select

• Update Citations and Bibliography

This will run the update process through your document. If CWYW is unsure which reference in your EndNote library a citation is referring to, it will flag this in red and ask you to select the correct record. This is one of the reasons you need to de-duplicate your library before working with your Word document; it helps prevent EndNote become confused about which reference it is looking for.

To format your bibliography, e.g. header, font size, margins etc., in the CWYW toolbar,

• Click on the arrow pointing down and right in the Bibliography part of the toolbar
• Modify the options as required and click OK

There are times when you may need a version of your document, with the citations and references included, but without the EndNote coding (which enables Word to communicate with EndNote) in the background. This version of the document is often requested by a publisher. To create a 'plain version', in the CWYW toolbar, select

• Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert to Plain Text

Another version of the document will be created, with the citations and references in place but no EndNote coding in the background. You need to save this document but remember to keep the original Word document so you can use it with EndNote if you need to. The new document will not communicate with Word anymore.