Skip to main content

Referencing - UK & EU Law: Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law

How do I reference an entry in the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law?

This guidance applies to the online version of the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law.

Please note: there is no specific guidance on how to reference this source in OSCOLA. This is the BU guide to referencing an entry in the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law.

author, | 'title of entry' | (date) | in editor (ed), | Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law | (online edn)

Footnote:
e.g. Tullio Scovazzi, ‘Maritime Delimitation Cases before International Courts and Tribunals’ (December 2006) in Rüdiger Wolfrum (ed), Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (online edn)

Bibliography:
e.g. Scovazzi T, ‘Maritime Delimitation Cases before International Courts and Tribunals’ (December 2006) in Wolfrum R (ed), Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (online edn)

To pinpoint a paragraph, follow the citation with ‘para’ and the paragraph number. To pinpoint several paragraphs, follow the citation with ‘paras’ and insert a dash between the paragraph numbers:
e.g. Tullio Scovazzi, ‘Maritime Delimitation Cases before International Courts and Tribunals’ (December 2006) in Rüdiger Wolfrum (ed), Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (online edn) paras 31-33

Author

In a footnote, cite an author's name as: first name(s) or initial(s) | surname.

In a bibliography, cite an author's name as: surname | initial(s).

Do not include postnominals, such as QC.

More than one author

If an entry has been written by more than one author, please see either 'Book with two authors' or 'Book with three authors' or 'Book with more than three authors' (as appropriate) for guidance on how to reference the authors' names.

Title of entry

Enclose the title in 'single quotation marks'.

Give the first letter of all major words a capital letter. Minor words (e.g. 'for', 'and', 'or', 'the') should not be capitalized, unless they begin a title or a subtitle.

If an entry has a title and a subtitle that are not separated by punctuation, insert a colon : between them.

Date

The date is given in (round brackets).

Editor

Currently, the editor of the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law is Rüdiger Wolfrum.

Cite an editor like an author, but add after their name (ed).

In a footnote, cite an editor's name as: first name(s) or initial(s) | surname.

In a bibliography, cite an editor's name as: surname | initial(s).

Source

The source is the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law.

Give the source title in italics.

Give the first letter of all major words a capital letter. Minor words (e.g. 'of') should not be capitalized.

Follow the source title with: (online edn).