Skip to main content

Referencing - International Law: Bibliography

How do I create a bibliography?

A bibliography contains full references to all the sources you have cited or relied on for your assignment or dissertation.

The bibliography should be divided into the following categories, as appropriate:

  • Legislation
    • UK statutes (Acts)
    • UK statutory instruments
    • EU legislation
    • International legislation
  • Cases
    • UK cases
    • EU cases
    • International cases
  • Official materials (e.g. UN documents, reports)
  • Books
  • Journal articles and year books
  • Newspaper articles
  • Websites / web documents
  • Other materials.

List sources in alphabetical order within each category.

What if an author has written more than one source?

If citing several sources of the same type (e.g. books) by the same author, list the author's works in chronological order (starting with the oldest) within the relevant category.

If an author has written several sources of the same type (e.g. books) that were published in the same year, list them in alphabetical order of first major word of the title within the relevant category.

How do I reference an author's name in a bibliography?

An author's name is referenced differently in a footnote and a bibliography. This applies to ANY source with a named author.

In a footnote, cite the author's name exactly as it is given in the source used (see 'Footnotes'):

In a bibliography, give the author's last name followed by his/her initial(s) with no punctuation between them:

What if a source doesn't have an author?

If a source doesn't have a named person or an organization as the author, treat it as an unattributed work in the biblography.

Begin the reference with a double dash - - in place of an author's name.

List the unattributed work at the beginning of the relevant section in the bibliography. The example above is a journal article, so it would be listed at the beginning of the 'Journal articles' section.

If there is more than one unattributed work in a section, list them in alphabetical order of first major word of the title.