Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: Mordecai Lee Collection

History of Public Relations and Advertising

Small collection of seminal texts in Public Relations and Advertising 1920-1980. The collection is enhanced by an extensive collection of books and journals located in the main collections and databases available from the Library website.

Collection details

 

Name

Papers of Mordecai Lee: History of Public Relations in American Public Administration and NGOs/Nonprofits

Dates 1906-2010
Physical Description c. 20 large archive boxes
Arrangement

Mordecai Lee was a professor at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA, with an interest in government public relations, especially in American public administration. Beginning with his doctoral studies at Syracuse University (NY) in 1970 and until his retirement in 2018, he collected materials on the practice and history of public relations in the American public sector. In the 1990s, he expanded his collecting to include the practice of public relations by NGOs in the US (nonprofits in American parlance).

In 2017, he donated about 40 books to Bournemouth University’s library dealing with the practice of PR by governmental agencies and NGOs in the 20th and early 21st centuries. These were incorporated into the library’s collection. Separately, that year he donated his collection and research files to the PR History Archive at Bournemouth. 

A catalogue for this deposit is available as a pdf below.

Access Restrictions

Use Restrictions: Please credit all references to any material located in this collection to:

“Papers of Mordecai Lee, International PR History Archive, Special Collection, Bournemouth University, UK”

Language English
Control number