Skip to Main Content

Archives and Special Collections: TV Times Project

Bournemouth University's Independent Broadcasting Authority (IBA) Archive and Special Collections

Contact

Accessing BU's IBA Archive Materials:

  • This is not a digitised collection. Access is by pre-arranged appointment only to visit BU's Talbot Campus Library (postcode: BH12 5BB).
  • Please contact archivesandspecialcollections@bournemouth.ac.uk.
  • We require minimum 20 working weekdays' notice to process and prepare research visit requests; we typically have to negotiate requested visit dates.
  • We reserve the right to defer visitor access to BU's IBA Archive subject to availability of staff resource.

TV Times Project

  • TV Times from 1956-1985 on microfilm, located on the ground floor of The Sir Michael Cobham Library. The microfilm is the first output of an extensive project to create a digital copy of the TV Times and a database containing the Schedules from 1956-1985.
  • The project was supported by a Resource Enhancement Grant from the Arts and Humanities Research Board [AHRB].
  • Library Catalogue record [link to be updated]
  • BUFVC record: http://bufvc.ac.uk/archives/index.php/collection/78
  • Holland, M., 2003. The TVTimes Digitisation Project 1955 - 1985. In: DRH 2003: Digital Resources in the Humanities Conference, 31 August - 3 September 2003, University of Gloucester, Cheltenham. (Unpublished). Available from: http://eprints.bournemouth.ac.uk/496/.

Collection details

Name TVTimes (London Edition)
Dates 1955 - 1985
Physical Description 94 positive microfilm reels 35 mm.

96 CDR's containing .pdf files, multi-page images, medium compression, approximately A4 pages, 300dpi, jpeg, produced on a Sunrise S2000 + microfilm scanner, PageGenie Enterprise (OCR & PDF conversion)
Arrangement Microfilm and CDR's shelved in a filing cabinet in Archives & Special Collections in date order.
Access/Reproduction Restrictions

The copyright for The TV Times remains with IPC Media PLC. For guidance on the access see Research Collection (PDF 232kb)
Versions and Copies Print copy in British Library

94 positive and negative micro film masters located at the British Library.

96 CDR's containing .pdf files, multi-page images, located with Arts and Humanities Data Service, the Performing Arts Data Service, [AHDS-PADS].

c155 CDR's containing .tiff, single page per image, located with Arts and Humanities Data Service, the Performing Arts Data Service, [AHDS-PADS].
Source of Acquisition From the British Library
Language English
Control number M0009562DO