Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives & Special Collections: Segrue Journalism Collection

Segrue Journalism Collection

One of the largest collections of books on the British Press 1910-1970 to remain in private hands donated to the University in 2002 by the Segrue family.

The majority of these books are stored off-site and must be requested in advance. You can find the catalogue here.

 

The Segrue collection is reference only.

 

Collection details

Name Segrue Journalism Collection
Dates 1910-1970
Physical Description c.2,000 books
Arrangement One of the largest collections of books on the British Press 1910-1970 to remain in private hands donated to the University in 2002 by the Segrue family. Information on the the Segrue collection is available on the Library Catalogue.
Access Restrictions Archives & Special Collections
Source of Acquisition Donated by the Segrue family
Administrative /biographical history John Chrisoston Segrue 1883-1942. Foreign correspondent of The Daily News 1913 to 1930, and then of the News Chronicle. Segrue worked in Geneva during the First World War, and then in Budapest, Berlin and Paris. He returned to Berlin in 1930 and covered the rise of Nazism until 1936 when he transferred to Vienna. After the 1938 Anschluss he moved to Budapest. He was captured during the German advance into Yugoslavia, and died in a prisoner of war camp in 1942
Language English
Control number M0009485DO