Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: Dorset Natural History and Archaeological Society Collection

Dorset Natural History and Archaeological Society Collection

A collection of the proceedings, reports, newsletters and bulletins of the Society covering the period from its formation as the Dorset Natural History and Antiquarian Field Club in 1876 to the present day.

Collection details

Name Dorset Natural History and Archaeological Society Collection
Dates 1876-2002
Physical Description 4 journals and 2 indexes
Arrangement Proceedings 1960 on , plus Newsletters and Annual Reports are with the 4th floor journals
Proceedings 1877-1959, and a duplicate set of Proceedings from 1972 on are in Archives & Special Collections
Contents and Scope Proceeding of the Dorset Natural History and Antiquarian Field Club, vols. I-XLIX, 1877-1928.
Proceedings of the Dorset Natural History and Archaeological Society, vols. L-, 1928-
Newsletter of the Dorset Natural History and Archaeological Society, no. 8 - , 1976-
(The Newsletter incorporated several other publications that were sometimes published within the Newsletter and sometimes separately. These were: Bird Bulletin, to 1996; Dorset Local History Group Newsletter, to 1996, the Natural History News Bulletin, nos. 1-14, 1987-1990, and Natural History and Geology Bulletin, nos. 15-32, 1990-1995.)
Annual Report 1993 - (1972-1993 the annual report was published in the newsletter, pre 1972 it was published in the Proceedings)
Index to the Proceedings of the Dorset Natural History and Archaeological Society, vols. 1-110, 1876-1983
Proceedings of the Dorset Natural History and Archaeological Society Subject Index, vols. 42-82, 1921-1960
Source of Acquisition The early run of the Proceedings to 1928 was donated by Mr Derek Beamish
Administrative/biographical history The Dorset Natural History and Antiquarian Field Club changed its name to The Dorset Natural History and Archaeological Society in 1928 when it amalgamated with Dorset County Museum.
Language English
Control number M0009627DO