Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: Independent Production Collection

Independent Production Collection

Collection of material related to the introduction of Producer Choice into the BBC, Channel 4 and Flashback Production. The material is on permanent loan from Victoria Wegg-Prosser. The collections is held in the Library store

Collection details

Name Independent Production Collection, collected and arranged by Victoria Wegg-Prosser
Dates 1935-1994
Physical Description 11 items
Access/Reproduction Restrictions Archives & Special Collections. For all unpublished material refer to Victoria Wegg-Prosser for copyright clearances.
Contents and Scope Britain in the Thirties -
Two arch lever files containing
File 1 Research notes and transcripts of tapes for Arsenal and The Garden Suburb
File 2 Material relating to the National Film Theatre season on Britain in the Thirties in 1974

Channel 4 -
one arch level file containing brochures, regulations and agreements

Futures -
One ring binder containing the following material: Futures Briefing Pack News and current affairs - an exercise in the introduction of Producer Choice into the BBC, March 1993 and Fast Forward Simulation - a preparation for the introduction of Producer Choice, Sept/Oct 1993

Flashback Production-
Box containing the following items:-
Producers' Alliance for Cinema and Television. The legal aspects of production. 1993
Willis Faber & Dumas (UK) Limited. Channel 4 film and television production insurance scheme, summary of insurance coverage for "The March of Time" series 1984
Willis Wrightson London Limited. Channel 4 film and television production insurance scheme, summary of insurance coverage for "The March of Time" series v, vi, 1988
Willis Faber & Dumas (UK) Limited. Entertainment insurance for "The March of Time" series 1986
Channel Four Television. Production agreement for Happiest Days, 1986,1987
Production guide 84/85. London: Broadcast, 1984
Channel Four Television. Independent productions terms of trade. London: Channel Four Television, 1982
Channel Four Television. Independent productions terms of trade. London: Channel Four Television, 1984
Channel Four Television. Terms of trade. London: Channel Four Television, 1992
Royal London General. Commercial Insurance Policy for Flashback Productions Ltd., 1992-3
Channel Four Television. Information folder 1983-4
Sampson Curtis. Agreement between Sanderson Vere Crane (film editors) Limited and Flashback Productions Limited, dated 17th September 1990
The Business November 1984

Option agreement for the acquisition of rights in the work written by Lord Fenner Brockway entitled The Bermondsey Story, dated 9th December 1983
Broadcast 21 September 1984
Broadcast 2 November 1984
Broadcast 9 November 1984
Television 28 September 1984
Televisual November 1984

Independent Programme Listings -
one arch level file containing details of forthcoming Independent programmes interfiled with BBC World Service Television - Programme Schedule Europe, and hours of Independent Transmission 1993-1994

March of Time
One lever arch file containing:-
Agreement for March of Time series one18th September 1985
Agreement for March of Time series two18th July 1986
Transcripts of chosen takes:-
Provisional budget, 2nd draft 13.9.1984 and accompanying notes
Final programme budget 11.1.1985
Title list of March of Time films
Draft attempt to cross code the British and American editions
The March of Time - feasibility study for Channel Four
License Agreement, 1984
March of Time - errors and omissions liability insurance

Producer Choice -1 lever arch file containing material from August 1987 to October 1993

This Week and TV Eye -
1 lever arch file containing post production scripts, pre transmission scripts, and related material from the This Week and TV Eye television current affairs programmes.
1969-1980

Workers' Films of the Thirties -
2 arch level files containing original research and documentation relating to the programme Workers' Films of the Thirties, 1981-1991, the file includes some original documentation from the Film and Photo League. 1935-1939

Source of Acquisition Permanent loan from Victoria Wegg-Prosser
Language English
Control number M0009484DO