Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: This Week Collection

This Week Collection

Collection of transcripts, broadcast information and recordings for this landmark UK current affairs series, for those years when it was aired (1956 - 1992). Transcripts and audio tapes are held in the Library store. The video recordings are shelved on the stacks in Archives & Special Collections. There is a searchable database of the contents at http://bufvc.ac.uk/tvandradio which was created with grant support from the AHRC.

Collection details

Name This Week Collection
Dates 1956-1992
Physical Description 7 loose leaf folders of press cuttings
13 audio cassettes
c.165 DVD recordings
Technical Description TDK Audio cassettes
Fuji Digital Betacam
Sony U-Matic (3/4") video cassette
Digital Versatile Disc
Sony Betacam SP
JVC and Konica Video Home System cassettes
Arrangement The transcripts and audio tapes are held in the Library Store. The DVD recordings are shelved on the stacks in Archives & Special Collections. There is a searchable database of the contents at http://bufvc.ac.uk/tvandradio.
Access Restrictions Archives & Special Collections
Source of Acquisition Largely donation from Patricia Holland
Language English
Archival history This Week was the first weekly current affairs series to be broadcast on the UK independent television network (ITV) and ran for 36 years from 1956-1992. Produced for ITV by Associated-Rediffusion (for part of the time just called Rediffusion) from 1956-1968, then by Thames Television from 1968-1992 it was a major contributor to UK television current affairs programming together with the likes of Panorama [BBC 1953-] and World in Action [Granada for ITV 1963-98].http://tvtip.bufvc.ac.uk/thisweek/ [Accessed 24th February 2010]
The collection formed the basis of a research project carried out by Patricia Holland and Victoria Wegg-Prosser which resulted in the publication of the book The Angry Buzz (I.B. Tauris, 2006) and also a BUFVC database created with grant support from the ARHC. The material which was originally located in the Thames Television Library was later transferred to the University with the permission of FreemantleMedia, the subsequent owners of Thames Television.