Skip to Main Content

Archives and Special Collections: Arthur Brown Collection

Bournemouth University's Independent Broadcasting Authority (IBA) Archive and Special Collections

Contact

Accessing BU's IBA Archive Materials:

  • This is not a digitised collection. Access is by pre-arranged appointment only to visit BU's Talbot Campus Library (postcode: BH12 5BB).
  • Please contact archivesandspecialcollections@bournemouth.ac.uk.
  • We require minimum 20 working weekdays' notice to process and prepare research visit requests; we typically have to negotiate requested visit dates.
  • We reserve the right to defer visitor access to BU's IBA Archive subject to availability of staff resource.

Arthur Brown Collection

  • Library Catalogue record. [link to be updated]
  • JISC Archives Hub record.
  • Press cuttings and other printed material relating to riots and civil disobedience in the UK covering the period 1976-2000.
  • Access to this special collection is by appointment only (Mon-Thurs 9.30am-4.30pm, Fri 10am-4pm) and requires at least 20 working days' notice.
  • Please email on archivesandspecialcollections@bournemouth.ac.uk (inbox is monitored by two Librarians) if you wish to arrange access to this collection.
Off-site storage box Number Box Contents
9000037 Handsworth riots - press coverage 1985-1986; docks strike 1984-85; Manchester Moss Side riots 1981-82; Messenger/ National Graphical Association dispute - 1983-85
9000038 Broadwater Farm riots Vol 1 - 1985-87; Heysel Stadium 1985-1990; poll tax riots 1990-1995; Murder of Stephen Lawrence 1999-2000
9000039 Brixton riots 1981-1991; Newcastle riots 1991-93; Northumbria Police area report Sept 1991; Death of Blair Peach 1979-88
9000040 Wapping dispute 1986-91; Toxteth riots 1981-85; Miners' strike - fatalities 1984-85
9000041 Death of Colin Roach 1983; Broadwater Farm riots Vol 2 - 1988-1995; Scarman inquiry into the Brixton riots 1981-85
9000042 Left and tight wing journals and flyers 1969-87

Collection details

Name Riots and civil disobedience, collected and arranged by Arthur Brown
Dates 1976 - 2000
Physical Description 29 items
Arrangement Arranged in three groups. 1) Folders containing newspaper cuttings. 2) Printed and photocopied material. 3) 2 boxes containing journal issues
Access/Reproduction Restrictions Archives & Special Collections
Contents and Scope 16 Folders of cuttings and reports: 
Death of Blair Peach 1979-1988
Brixton Riots 1981-1991
Scarman Enquiry into the Brixton riots 1981-
1985
Manchester Riots 1981-1982
Toxteth Riots 1981-1985
Messenger-NGA Dispute 1983-1985
Death of Colin Roach 1983
Miners' Strike Fatalities 1984-1985
Docks Strike 1984-1985
Broadwater Farm Riots 1985-1995
Handsworth Riots1985-1986
Heysel Stadium Disaster 1985-1990
Wapping Dispute 1986-1991
Poll Tax Riots 1990-1995
Newcastle Riots 1991-1992
Murder of Stephen Lawrence: MacPherson
Inquiry 1999 -2000

Printed and photocopied material: 
Community Disorder: the police response:
Handbook for students. 198?
Gregory, Frank. Protest and Violence; the
Police response. Conflict Studies no. 75, September 1976
Shipley, Peter. The National Front: Racialism and
neo-Fascism in Britain. Conflict Studies no. 97, July 1978
Racial Attacks: report of a Home Office Study.
London: Home Office, 1981
Views on the Scarman report into the Brixton
Riots of 1981
Metropolitan Police. Public Order Review: civil
Disturbances 1981-85
Home Office. Committee of Inquiry into Crowd Safety and Control at Sports Grounds: Interim Report (Cmnd. 9585) London: HMSO, 1985
West Midlands Police Handsworth / Lozells, September 1985 Birmingham: West Midlands Police, 1985
Kinsey, Richard. Survey of Merseyside Police
Officers first report, June 1985
Silverman, Julius Independent Inquiry into the Handsworth Disturbances, September 1985, Report. Birmingham: City of Birmingham, 1986
Stephen Lawrence Inquiry: report of an Inquiry by Sir William MacPherson of Cluny. (Cm 4262-I). London: HMSO, 1999

Box of Left and Right Wing Journals and Flyers, containing various printed materials, mainly copies of Socialist Worker, Black Flag, National Student, Bulldog and other journals, and flyers.
Source of Acquisition Donation by Arthur Brown
Administrative /biographical history Arthur Brown, former Police Inspector Cheshire Constabulary, and Lecturer in Law and Public Administration at West Cheshire College. Author of Police Governance in England and Wales. London: Cavendish, 1998.
Language English
Control number M0009444DO