Skip to Main Content

Archives and Special Collections: In Touch Collection

Bournemouth University's Independent Broadcasting Authority (IBA) Archive and Special Collections

Contact

Accessing BU's IBA Archive Materials:

  • This is not a digitised collection. Access is by pre-arranged appointment only to visit BU's Talbot Campus Library (postcode: BH12 5BB).
  • Please contact archivesandspecialcollections@bournemouth.ac.uk.
  • We require minimum 20 working weekdays' notice to process and prepare research visit requests; we typically have to negotiate requested visit dates.
  • We reserve the right to defer visitor access to BU's IBA Archive subject to availability of staff resource.

In Touch Collection

  • Collection of nearly 20 years worth of recordings and broadcast information for the IN TOUCH radio programme, broadcast on BBC Radio 4 from c1969 to 1995.
  • This unique programme provides a critical consumer evaluation of aids and services for people with a visual handicap.
  • Bulk of the collection dates from the late 1970s and also includes copies of the IN TOUCH bulletin which from 1974 was produced quarterly with a summary of the broadcast information.
  • The collection is held in the Talbot Campus Library mobile shelves.
  • Library Catalogue record
  • JISC Archives Hub record

Collection details

Name BBC Radio 4 In Touch Collection
Dates 1969-1995
Physical Description In Touch Bulletin (Quarterly Summary) 1975-1995 in 3 lever arch files
In Touch Fact Sheets (Weekly, Incomplete) 1993-1995 in 3 lever arch files
Programme Notes (1969-72, 1969-71, 1972-76) in 3 lever arch files
"Programme as Broadcast" documentation 1979-1994 in 4 lever arch files 46 sound tape reels (1969-71)
2 sound tape reels (misc)
490 TDK /SA audio cassettes (1973, 1980-1994)
Technical Description 1 EMI LP 5 inch tape
1 BASF 5 inch tape
Zonal 675 7 inch tapes
TDK /SA audio cassettes
Arrangement Held in the Library Store
Access Restrictions Archives & Special Collections
Source of Acquisition Donated by Thena Kendall, In Touch producer (1964-1994)
Language English
Archival History Collection of nearly 20 years worth of recordings of the IN TOUCH programme, broadcast on BBC Radio 4. Bulk of the collection dates from the late 1970s. Includes programme as broadcast documentation which includes information about content and contributors for the programmes.
Also includes copies of the IN TOUCH bulletin which from 1974 was produced quarterly with a summary of the broadcast information. In Touch is almost certainly the only programme of its kind in the world, providing a critical consumer evaluation of aids and services for people with a visual handicap. Most of production team had personal experience of serious visual problems.