Skip to Main Content

Archives and Special Collections: Audience Research Statistics

Bournemouth University's Independent Broadcasting Authority (IBA) Archive and Special Collections

Contact

Accessing BU's IBA Archive Materials:

  • This is not a digitised collection. Access is by pre-arranged appointment only to visit BU's Talbot Campus Library (postcode: BH12 5BB).
  • Please contact archivesandspecialcollections@bournemouth.ac.uk.
  • We require minimum 20 working weekdays' notice to process and prepare research visit requests; we typically have to negotiate requested visit dates.
  • We reserve the right to defer visitor access to BU's IBA Archive subject to availability of staff resource.

Audience Research Statistics

  • This collection consists of data sets from the Broadcasters' Audience Research Board (BARB), Joint Industry Committee for Television Advertising Research (JICTAR), Radio Joint Audience Research Ltd. (RAJAR), and associated material dating from 1966-2001.
  • Location: held in Talbot Campus Library mobile shelves and in our off-site storage facility (which cannot be visited, materials must be requested and delivered in advance of visiting Talbot Campus Library).

Broadcasting Audience Research Board (BARB) Collection BU Library Catalogue records:

BARB Collection in off-site storage:

Collection Off-site storage box number Box contents Notes
BARB - This Week's Viewing Summary 9000001 1966-1977  
9000002 1978-1987  
9000003 1990-1997  
9000004 1998 Box shared between two collections
Weekly TV Report  9000004 Sept 1981 to Dec 1983 Box shared between two collections
BARB Astra Panel Reports 9000005 1993 week 1 to 1994 week 13  
9000006 1994 week 14 to 1995 week 14  
9000007 1995 week 15 to 1996 week 10  
9000008 1996 week 11 to 1996 week 52  
9000009 1997 week 1 to 1997 week 36  
9000010 1997 week 37 to 1998 week 8  
9000011 1998 week 9 to 1998 week 36  
9000012 1998 week 37 to 1999 week 10  
9000013 1999 week 11 to 1999 week 36  
9000014 1999 week 37 to 2000 week 6  
9000015 2000 week 7 to 2000 week 24  
9000016 2000 week 25 to 2000 week 45  
9000017 2000 week 46 to 2001 week 4 Box shared between two collections

Collection details

Title Broadcasting Audience Research Collection
Dates 1966-2001
Physical Description 38 boxes and 29 loose leaf folders
Arrangement The collection consists of four datasets. Weekly TV audience reports, Weekly TV ratings top 20 and area top 10, Trends in Television, and RAJAR, The Radio Audience. The datasets are catalogued individually.
Access Restrictions Special Collections
Contents and Scope BARB Weekly Audience Reports
Astra Satellite Panel Weekly TV Audience Report, Produced for BARB by AGB, 1993-2000
Multi Channel Home Weekly TV Audience Report, produced for BARB by AGB, 2001

Weekly Summaries
TVRatings Top 20 network television programmes, produced for JICTAR by TAM Jan. 1966 - Jul. 1968
TVRatings Top 20 network television programmes, produced for JICTAR by AGB Aug. 1968 - Aug. 1981
The National Ratings Top 10, produced for BARB by AGB Aug. 1981 - July 1982
The Week's Viewing in Summary, produced for BARB by AGB July 1982 - Sept 1991
This Week's Viewing in Summary, produced for BARB by AGB Sept 1991-Oct 1998

Monthly Summaries
Trends in Television AGB Aug. 1974 - Dec. 1990

RAJAR: The Radio Audience
Summaries: Quarter 1, 1998 to March 2001, December 2001 - June 2002
Quarterly and Twice Yearly Results: Quarter 2, 1992; Quarter 1, 1993 -December 2002
Language English
Control number M0009498DO