Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: Wedlake and Greening Collection

Wedlake and Greening Collection

A collection books and pamphlets on archaeology split between the mobile shelving, Library Store and the open shelves. The material covers a period from c.1840 - 1976.

Collection details

Name Wedlake and Greening Collection
Dates C.1840 - 1976
Physical Description 38 boxes of pamphlets and a collection of books
Arrangement The books in the collection are divided between the main library collections and the Archive & Special Collections, they can be identified by the book plate. They are catalogued individually and appear on the Library Catalogue.
The pamphlet collections are in boxes in Archive & Special Collections. The boxes are catalogued individually and appear on the Library Catalogue.
Access/Reproduction Restrictions The majority of the items are in Archive & Special Collections, but some are distributed through the main library collections
Contents and Scope The boxes of pamphlets are titled as follows:-
Pamphlets on Architecture
Pamphlets on Churches, Abbeys and Cathedrals (Great Britain)- 3 boxes
Pamphlets on Churches, Abbeys and Cathedrals (not Great Britain)
Pamphlets on Coins
Pamphlets on Archaeology (Overseas) - 2 boxes
Pamphlets on Archaeological Museums and Exhibitions (Great Britain)
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Great Britain
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Scotland and Ireland
Pamphlets on Archaeology of London
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Kent
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Sussex
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Hampshire
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Isle of Wight
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Wiltshire
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Dorset
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Devon
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Cornwall
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Somerset - 2 boxes
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Avon
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Gloucestershire
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Hereford and Worcester
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Shropshire
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Derbyshire
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Nottinghamshire
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Lincolnshire
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Leicestershire
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Hertfordshire
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Norfolk
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Suffolk
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Cambridge
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Essex
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Cheshire
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Lancashire, Manchester and Cumbria
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Yorkshire, Durham, Northumberland and Tyneside
Pamphlets on Archaeology of Wales
Source of Acquisition Donation from William James Wedlake and Peter Greening
Language English
Control number M0009445DO