Skip to Main Content

Archives and Special Collections: BBC Radio 4 Analysis

Bournemouth University's Independent Broadcasting Authority (IBA) Archive and Special Collections

Contact

Accessing BU's IBA Archive Materials:

  • This is not a digitised collection. Access is by pre-arranged appointment only to visit BU's Talbot Campus Library (postcode: BH12 5BB).
  • Please contact archivesandspecialcollections@bournemouth.ac.uk.
  • We require minimum 20 working weekdays' notice to process and prepare research visit requests; we typically have to negotiate requested visit dates.
  • We reserve the right to defer visitor access to BU's IBA Archive subject to availability of staff resource.

BBC Radio 4 Analysis collection

  • Analysis is the flagship BBC Radio 4 documentary broadcast from 1970. It is an historical record of the events of the past two decades as well as representing the changing style of radio documentary.
  • The collection consists of audio recordings and scripts for the programme from April 1970 - 1990 (approx. 25 boxes).
  • Library mySearch record
  • JISC Archives Hub record
  • Location: Talbot Campus Library mobile shelves.
  • The collection is supported by a small grant from the Arts and Humanities Research Board [AHRB].
  • Please be aware that the majority of this collection is on reel-to-reel and cassette tape (tape may be listened to on equipment in Sir Michael Cobham Library).

Collection details

Title BBC Radio 4 Analysis Collection
Dates 1970-1990
Technical Description

Scotch 3M 7inch tapes
Zonal 675 10.5 inch tapes
TDK audio cassettes

The tape collection consists of 913 audio recordings, 61 audio cassettes and 852 tape reels. Programmes are recorded on 10.5, 10, 7.5 and 7 inch reel to reel tapes and audio cassettes. Generally the tapes used are Scotch 3M 7in. tapes to 1980, and from 1980 Zonal 675 10.5 inch tapes. From 1986 some programmes are recorded onto TDK audio cassettes. The collection consists of c530 transcripts of programmes. Scripts contain the text of the programme and identify each speaker, usually they provide a date, title and occasionally a complete list of participants.
Arrangement Transcripts and tapes are held in the Talbot Campus Library mobile shelves.
Access Restrictions Archives & Special Collections
Source of Acquisition Donated by the BBC Radio 4 Analysis Team
Language English
Archival History BBC Radio 4 Analysis is the flagship BBC Radio 4 documentary, broadcast from 1970. It is an historical record of the events of the past three decades as well as representing the changing style of radio documentary. BBC Radio 4 Analysis is currently broadcast on BBC Radio 4.

The Radio 4 Analysis Archive came into being in April 1998. The transfer of the current Radio 4 Analysis office to BBC White City necessitated the relocation of some audio-tapes and transcripts. As a result all audio-tapes from 1970 to 1990 and all transcripts 1970-1982 were given to the university. Remaining transcripts (1982-1990) have been added to the collection from another source. The Radio 4 Analysis Archive was supported by a grant from the AHRB.

Bournemouth University and the BBC have an agreement to allow Bournemouth University to hold tapes and transcripts with the full knowledge and permission of the BBC. The agreement permits on site access to bona fide scholars. Bournemouth University's, Bournemouth University Research Collection (Bournemouth University 2003) gives guidance on the Acquisition, Collection Management and Access to the Bournemouth University Research Collection.
Control number M0009486DO