Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: History of Broadcasting

Contact

Access:

History of Broadcasting

  • Collection of books, annuals and reviews for the period 1920-1980 and journals including:
    • Ariel 1936-1991 - mySearch record
    • BBC Quarterly 1949-1954 - mySearch record
    • The Listener 1930-1990 - mySearch record (if you have access to Gale products - BU Library does not subscribe - then you may be able to access The Listener digitally here: https://www.gale.com/intl/c/the-listener-historical-archive). BBC periodical published from 1929-1991. Reports, reviews and comment on major literary and musical programmes with contributions from of E M Forster, George Orwell, Bertrand Russell, George Bernard Shaw and Virginia Woolf.  
    • The Radio Times (London Ed.) 1936-1987 - mySearch record

Collection details

Name History of Broadcasting Collection
Dates 1920-1980
Physical Description 300 books and 5 journals
Arrangement The books in the collection are divided between the main library collections and Archives & Special Collections. They are catalogued individually and appear on the Library Catalogue. The journals are catalogued individually and are shelved in Archives & Special collections.
Access Restrictions Archives & Special Collections
Contents and Scope Collection of books, annuals and reviews for the period 1920-1980 and journals including Ariel 1936-1991, BBC Record 1961-1975, BBC Quarterly 1949-1954, The Listener 1930-1990 and The Radio Times (London Ed.) 1936-1987.
Language English
Control number M0009500DO