Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: Independent Local Radio Programme Sharing Digitisation Project Archive

Independent Local Radio Programme Sharing Digitisation Project Archive

Digitised archive of local radio programmes from c1980-1990. The Independent Local Radio Programme Sharing Scheme, organised by the Association of Independent Radio Contractors [AIRC], enabled independent radio stations to share features, drama and music. The scheme ended after the 1990 Broadcasting Acts relaxed the requirement for speech based broadcasting which it served. The collection, located in the Library Store, was digitised in a partnership with the British Library, National Sound Archive and Bournemouth University. The Collection is supported by a Resource Enhancement Grant from the Arts and Humanities Research Board [AHRB]. The collection is held in the Library store

Collection details

Name Independent Local Radio Programme Sharing Digitisation Project Archive
Dates 1980-1990
Physical Description c.800 compact discs in 1 filing cabinet and 7 loose leaf folders
Arrangement The compact discs are filed by date. The folders contain copies of the covers of the cds and detail their contents. Held in the Library Store.
Access Restrictions Archives & Special Collections
Contents and Scope Digitised archive of local radio programmes from c1980-1990. The Independent Local Radio Programme Sharing Scheme, organised by the Association of Independent Radio Contractors [AIRC], enabled independent radio stations to share features, drama and music. The scheme ended after the 1990 Broadcasting Acts relaxed the requirement for speech based broadcasting which it served.
The participating stations were: Association of Independent Radio Contractors, Beacon Radio,
Breeze AM, BRMB Radio, Brunel Radio, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation [CBC], Capital Gold, Capital Radio, CBC [Cardiff Broadcasting Company], Centre Radio, Chiltern Radio, CN.FM, County Sound Radio, Devonair Radio, Downtown Radio, DR (Danmarks Radio), Essex Radio, Fox FM, Gold AM, Great North Radio, Gwent Broadcasting, GWR Radio, Hereward Radio, Horizon Radio, Invicta Radio, Invicta Supergold,
LBC [London Broadcasting Company], Leicester Sound,
London Greek Radio (LGR), Marcher Gold, Marcher Sound, Mercia Sound, Metro Radio, MFM, Moray Firth Radio, Network East Kent, Northants 96, Northdown Radio, NorthSide Sound, NorthSound Radio, Ocean Sound, Orchard FM, ORF - Osterreichischer Rundfunk,
Pennine Radio, Piccadilly Gold 1152, Piccadilly Key 103 FM, Piccadilly Radio, Plymouth Sound, Power FM, Radio 210, Radio Academy, Radio Aire, Radio Broadland, Radio City, Radio Clyde, Radio Forth, Radio France, Radio Hallam, Radio Mercury, Radio Orwell, Radio Tay,
Radio Tees, Radio Trent, Radio Victory, Radio WABC, Radio West, Radio Wyvern, Radiodiffusion Television Polonaise, Red Dragon Radio, Red Rose Radio, Rundfunk Der DDR, Saxon Radio, Severn Sound, SFB - Sender Freies Berlin, Signal Radio, Southern Sound Radio, Suffolk Group Radio, Sunrise Radio, Swansea Sound, TFM, The Light FM, Two Counties Radio [2CR],
Viking Radio, West Sound, Westwood One, Wiltshire Radio, XTRA AM
Source of Acquisition The collection was digitised in a partnership with the British Library, National Sound Archive and Bournemouth University. The Collection is supported by a Resource Enhancement Grant, from the Arts and Humanities Research Board [AHRB].
Language English
Control number M0009501DO