Reference collection of documentaries 2005-6, 2008 to date submitted for various categories in the annual Grierson Awards in honour of Scottish documentary maker John Grierson (1898 - 1972), regarded as the father of the documentary.
Access to this collection is available to BU staff/students, affiliated AUB students and bona fide researchers on written application to firstname.lastname@example.org
Please be aware that much of this collection is on VHS tape but can be viewed in the Sir Michael Cobham library.
|Name||Grierson Award Archive|
|Dates||2005-2006, 2008 to date
A few VHS entries from earlier dates back to 1999
|Physical Description||Documentaries submitted to the Grierson Trust for the annual Grierson Award.|
|Technical Description||VHS tapes; DVDs|
|Arrangement||By year, in A-Z order, in filing cabinets in the Grierson Archive DLG27|
|Access Restrictions||Available to BU staff/students, affiliated AUB students and bona fide researchers.
All external users should contact Archives and Special Collections to request permission to access to the collection. No copying allowed.
|Source of Acquisition||Donated by the Grierson Trust|
|Archival history||Collection donated by the Grierson Trust for use by the research community. Incomplete in early years.
The Grierson Trust commemorates the pioneering Scottish documentary maker John Grierson (1898 - 1972), famous for Drifters and Night Mail and the man widely regarded as the father of the documentary.
Each year, The Grierson Trust recognises the best documentary filmmaking from Britain and abroad through the British Documentary Awards.