Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Rules & Policies

Policies

Permissions: using IBA Archive materials

If you decide to evidence and reference any of BU's IBA Archive materials in your research and / or teaching:  

  • You need to contact us with extracts from your draft work (pre-peer review and publication / presentation) where you’re citing and referencing any BU archive and special collections sources. Then we have a permissions process we’d follow with you.
  • If referencing IBA Archive materials in your research and/or teaching, we ask that you please acknowledge and reference our service by including note of origin: Bournemouth University's Archives and Special Collections https://libguides.bournemouth.ac.uk/archives-special-collections.

Copying and Photographing

Archive Research Room Rules

Health and Safety Information

Data Protection

  • All use of the archives and special collections is governed by data protection legislation. Our advice to you on how to use the collections will depend on the age and content of the material.

How we process your data

  • When you complete a request form, we will keep this securely for statistics monitoring for a period of up to seven years. If you wish for your data to be removed from the system, please liaise with a member of archives and special collections team (archivesandspecialcollections@bournemouth.ac.uk). Your information will not be used for any other purpose.

BU's Data Protection and Privacy webpages